defibrillators

Where to go for Support

Below is a list of support groups available in Cheshire East (in alphabetical order)

If you are aware of any other groups you think should be added to the list please email mh@congletontowncouncil.co.uk

Name

Number

Website

ABORTION/ Sterilisation

Marie Stopes UK Helpline 0345 300 8090 (24hrs)  www.mariestopes.org.uk
British Pregnancy Advisory Service 0345 730 4030 www.bpas.org

ALCOHOL

Alcoholics Anonymous 0800 917 7650 www.alcoholicasanonymous.org.uk
Substance Misuse Service (Stepping Stones):

a.)    Catherine House, Crewe

b.)    Barnabas Centre, Macclesfield

 

 

01270 65630

 

01270 65630

www.cwp.nhs.uk/steppingstones

ANGER MANAGEMENT

CALM mainly for men aged 15-55 0800 58 58 58 www.thecalmzone.net
British Association of Anger Management 0345 1300 286 www.angermanage.co.uk
The Hope Street Centre, Sandbach, CH11 1BA 01270 764003 www.hopestreet.co.uk

ANOREXIA

B-eat

a.)    Helpline

b.)    Youthline

 

0345 634 1414

0345 634 7650

www.b-eat.co.uk

 

ANTI SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR

Anti-Social Behaviour Team (ASB) (CEC)         0300 123 5030
Victim Support Team 0808 168 9111 www.victimsupport.org.uk

ANXIETY

Anxiety UK 08444 775 774 www.anxietyuk.org.uk
CAMHS 16-19 CWP NHS Trust 01625 663502

ARMED SERVICES & EX SERVICE PEOPLE

Royal British Legion 0808 802 8080
SSAFA Association 0800 731 4880    www.ssafa.org.uk
Veterans Mental Health Charity 0800 138 1619

 

War Widows Society 0845 241 2189 www.warwidows.org.uk

AUTISM/ ASPERGES

Brainwave North West 01925 825547
Autism Together Trust 0800 013 0014 www.togethertrust.org.uk
National Autistic Society 0808 800 4104 www.autism.org

BEREAVEMENT

Cruse Bereavement 0808 808 1677 www.cruse.org.uk
Macclesfield Bereavement Support Service 01625 439333
Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide SOBS 0300 111 5065 www.uk-sobs.org.uk

BEREAVEMENT OF PETS

Pet Bereavement Support Service 0300 777 1897 www.bluecross.org.uk

BLINDNESS

Iris Vision Resource Centre 01270 250316 www.iris-centre.co.uk
Macclesfield Eye Society 01625 422602
RNIB 0303 123 9999 www.rnib.org.uk

BULIMIA

B-eat

a.)    Helpline

b.)    Youthline

 

0345 634 1414

0345 634 7650

www.b-eat.co.uk

 

CWP NHS – Eating Disorder Service 01244 397397 CWPeatingdisordersservice@cwp.nhs.uk

BULLYING

Cyberbullying & Substance Abuse                                           www.inpatientdrugrehab.org/cyberbullying-substance-abuse

ACAS 0300 123 1100 www.acas.or.uk
Family Information Service (FIS) 0300 123 5033 www.cheshireeast.gov.uk/fis
Anti-Bullying Alliance www.anti-bullyingalliance.org.uk  
Childline 0800 1111 www.childline.org.uk
Bullybusters 0800 169 6928 www.bullybusters.org.uk
BullyingUK (part of family lives) 0808 800 2222 www.bullying.co.uk

CANCER

Macmillan Cancer Resource Centre 01625 663128
Prostate Cancer Support 0845 456 0675   www.prostatecancer.org.uk
Prostate Cancer Support Crewe 0845 456 0678 darrel@prostatecancersupport.org
Macclesfield Breast Cancer Group 01625 523045
East Cheshire Hospice 01625 610364

CARERS

Carers Trust 4 all (Congleton) 0333 323 1990 headoffice@carerstrust4all.org.uk
Cheshire & Warrington Carers Trust 0800 085 0307

CHILD ABUSE

NSPCC 0808 800 500 www.nspcc.org.uk
Cheshire without Abuse 01270 250390 www.cheshirewithoutabuse.org.uk
Childline 0800 1111 www.childline.org.uk
NAPAC 0808 801 0331 www.napac.org
Cheshire East Domestic Abuse Hub (24/7) 0300 123 5101 cedap@cheshireeast.gov.uk

CONSUMER

Citizens Advice UK 03454 040506
Cheshire East Citizen Advice Bureau 03444 111 444    www.cecab.org.uk

COUNSELLING

The Hope Street Centre 01270 764003 www.hopestreet.co.uk
East Cheshire Counselling 07578 100256 www.eastcheshirecounselling.com
Therapy in Cheshire 07811 981645 http://therapy-cheshire.co.uk
Just Drop In 01625 665079 www.justdropin.co.uk

DEBT/ FINANCIAL WELFARE

Christians Against Poverty (CAP 0800 328 0006 www.capdebthelp.org
Citizens Advice UK 03454 040506
Cheshire East Citizen Advice Bureau 03444 111 444    www.cecab.org.uk

DEPRESSION

Students Against Depression   www.studentsagainstdepression.org
Depression Alliance   www.depressionalliance.org
Macclesfield Mind 01625 500 644 jayne.maccmind@btinternet.com
National Mind 0300 123 3393 www.mind.org.uk

DEMENTIA

Dementia Reablement Service (CEC) 01625 378287/

01270 371273

Alzheimer’s Society 0300 222 11 22   www.alzheimers.org.uk
Age UK National

Cheshire

0800 678 1174

01606 881660

www.ageuk.org.uk

www.ageuk.org.uk/cheshire

DISABILITY

Scope (Northwich) 01606 350065
Scope (National) 0800 800 3333 www.scope.org.uk
Alternative Futures Group 01477 532512 www.alternativefuturesgroup.org.uk

DYSLEXIA

Dyslexia Association 0118 966 8271 www.bdadyslexia.org.uk
The Cheshire Dyslexia Association 01606 832035

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Cheshire East Domestic Abuse Hub (24/7) 0300 123 5101 cedap@cheshireeast.gov.uk
Cheshire without Abuse 01270 250390 www.cheshirewithoutabuse.org.uk
Arch (Domestic Abuse Service for Men) 01270 253957/ 07769725750  www.archnorthstaffs.org.uk

DRUGS

Cheshire East Substance Misuse Service 01625 712000
Talk to FRANK 0300 123 6600 www.talktofrank.com
Narcotics Anonymous 0300 999 1212 www.ukna.org
Rehab online   www.rehab-online.org.uk
Re-Solv 01785 810762 www.re-solv.org

DOWN’S SYNDROME

Down’s Syndrome 0845 230 0372 www.downs-syndrome.org.uk
Cheshire Down’s Syndrome Group 01606 246171 www.cheshiredownssyndrome.com

ETHNIC MINORITY GROUPS

Black and Minority Ethnic Health & Wellbeing Service 01270 617685
Cheshire Halton & Warrington Race & Equality Centre 01244 400730

EXAM STRESS

Young Minds 0808 802 5544 www.youngminds.org.uk
Student Minds 01865 264168 www.studentminds.org.uk

FERTILITY

Infertility Network 01424 732 361 www.infertilitynetworkuk.com
Cheshire Fertility Centre 01625 569449 www.cheshirefertilitycentre.com

FORCED MARRIAGES/ HONOUR ABUSE

Karma Nirvana 0800 599 9247 www.karmanirvana.org.uk
Against Forced Marriages 0800 141 2994 www.againstforcedmarriages.org/helpline
Cheshire without Abuse 01270 250390 www.cheshirewithoutabuse.org.uk

GAMBLING

Gam Care & Gamble Aware 0808 802 0133 www.gamcare.org.uk
Gamblers Anonymous UK   www.gamblersanonymous.org.uk

GENDER IDENTITY

LBGT Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, Transgender 03453 30 30 30 www.lbgt.foundation
Gender Trust 01527 894 848 www.gendertrust.org.uk
Mermaids UK (gender issues in children) 0344 334 0550 www.mermaidsuk.org.uk

HATE CRIME

Cheshire Police 101 or 999
True Vision   http://www.report-it.org.uk/home

HEARING

Deafness Support Network 0333 220 5050

Text: 01625 669680

www.dsnonline.co.uk

Email: dsn@dsnonline.co.uk

HIV

GOSH – East Cheshire NHS Trust 0300 323 1300    www.gosexualhealth.co.uk
Test.HIV   www.test.hiv

Email: info@test.hiv

HOMELESSNESS/ HOUSING

Cheshire East Council (Homeless advice) 0300 123 5017 Opt1 www.cheshireeast.gov.uk/housing

 

Shelter

a.)    Macclesfield

b.)    Nantwich

0808 800 4444

0808 800 4444

01270 610345

www.england.shelter.org.uk
P3 – Cheshire East Homeless Services 0808 1686705 www.p3charity.org/homeless-services
Wulvern Housing 01270 506200 www.wulvern.org.uk
Peaks and Plains Housing Trust 0800 012 1311 www.peaksplains.org
Adullam Homes Housing Association 01260 298257 www.adullam.org.uk
Cheshire Homechoice 0300 123 5017 www.cheshirehomechoice.org.uk
The Rossendale Trust 01260 252500 www.rossendaletrust.org
Find Your Feet – YP Independent Living Program 07794 437346

 

mandi.metcalfe@cheshireeast.gov.uk
Citizens Advice UK 03454 040506
Cheshire East Citizen Advice Bureau 03444 111 444 www.cecab.org.uk

INTERNET SAFETY

Internet matters 0207 462 4242 www.internetmatters.org
NSPCC Share Aware 0808 800 5002 www.nspcc.org.uk/preventing-abuse
Cheshire East Council – Keeping safe online   www.cheshireeast.gov.uk/environment/community_safety

LEARNING DISABILITY

CWP NHS Trust – Adult Learning Disability Team 01625 663631 www.cwp.nhs.uk
Macclesfield Adults LD Lifestyle Group 01625 374077 cheshireeast.gov.uk/social_care_and_health.aspx
SCOPE 01244 390 239 www.scope.org.uk

LEGAL ADVICE

Rethink 0300 500 0927 www.rethink.org
Mind Helpline 0300 123 3393

LONLINESS

Age UK – Advice & info for older people 0800 169 65 65 www.ageuk.org.uk
Carers UK 0808 808 7777 www.carersuk.org
Do-it trust – Advertises volunteering opportunities   doittrust.org
Empty Closets –                 online community group   emptyclosets.com
Gingerbread- advice & practical support for single parents 0808 802 0925 gingerbread.org.uk
Mumsnet- online community for parents   mumsnet.com
Web of loneliness- online information & tips on loneliness   webofloneliness.com

MENTAL HEALTH

Macclesfield Mind 01625 500644     www.mind.org.uk
Bipolar UK 0207 931 6480 www.bipolaruk.org
Rethink 0300 500 0927 www.rethink.org
Community mental health teams:

a.)    Crewe

b.)    Macclesfield

 

 

01270 655273    

01625 505626

Making Space- support adults with a mental health condition 01606 78671 www.makingspace.co.uk
Sane 0300 304 7000 www.sane.org.uk
The Sanctuary 0300 003 7029 www.selfhelpservices.org.uk

OCD

Young Minds 020 7089 5050 www.youngminds.org.uk
OCD Youth 020 7253 5272 www.ocdyouth.org

OFFENDERS & FAMILY SUPPORT

PACT 0808 808 3444 www.prisonadvice.org.uk
POPS (Partners of Prisoners) 0808 808 2203 www.partnersofprisoners.co.uk
Offenders Families Helpline 0808 808 2003 www.offendersfamilieshelpline.org

OLDER PEOPLE

Age UK Cheshire East 01625 612958 enquiries@ageukcheshireeast.org
Royal Voluntary Service Cheshire 0845 608 0122 www.royalvoluntaryservice.org.uk

PARENTS NEEDING SOMEONE to TALK TOO

SCOPE 01244 390 239 www.scope.org
Gingerbread (single parents) 0808 802 0925 www.gingerbread.org.uk
SPAN (help for single parents)   www.singleparents.org.uk
Young Minds Parents helpline 0808 802 5544
Working families (advice for parents & carers) 0300 012 0312 www.workingfamilies.org.uk

PTSD

Mind 0300 123 3393 www.mind.org.uk
Assist Trauma 01788 560800 www.assisttraumacare.org.uk
Anxiety- UK 08444 775 774 www.anxiety-uk.org.uk
Combat Stress Veterans 0800 138 1619 www.combatstress.org.uk

PREGNANCY

British Pregnancy Advisory Service 03457 30 40 30 www.bpas.org
National Childbirth Trust 0300 33 00 700 www.nct.org.uk
Antenatal Results & Choices 0845 077 2290 www.arc-uk.org
Post Natal Depression PSS   www.psspeople.com
Cry Sis (premature and problem babies) 08451 228 669 www.cry-sis.org.uk

RAPE & ASSAULT

Sexual Violence 0808 2000 247

(24hr helpline)

Cheshire East Domestic Abuse Hub 0300 123 5101
Rape & Sexual Abuse Support Centre (Cheshire & Merseyside   www.rapecentre.org

RELATIONSHIPS & FAMILY

Relate Cheshire & Merseyside 0300 300 5793 www.relatecm.org.uk
Marriage Care 0800 389 3801 www.marriagecare.org.uk
Family Lives Charity 0808 800 2222 www.familylives.org.uk

SELF-ESTEEM

Macclesfield Mind 01625 500644 www.mind.org.uk
Young Minds 0808 802 5544 www.youngminds.org.uk

SELF INJURY/ SELF HARM

Macclesfield Mind 01625 500644 www.mind.org.uk
Young Minds 0808 802 5544 www.youngminds.org.uk
Rethink 0300 500 0927 www.rethink.org
Samaritans 08457 90 90 90 www.samaritans.org
Papyrus (under 35s) 0800 068 41 41 www.papyrus-uk.org
Get Connected (under 25) 0808 808 4994 www.getconnected.org.uk

SEXUALITY

LBGT Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, Transgender 03453 30 30 30 www.lbgt.foundation

STALKING

National Stalking Helpline 0808 802 0300 www.stalkinghelpline.org
Cheshire Victim Support 08 08 16 89 111 www.victimsupport.org.uk
Paladin – National Stalking Advocacy Service 020 3866 4107 www.paladinservice.co.uk

STRESS

Macclesfield Mind 01625 500644 www.mind.org.uk
Young Minds 0808 802 5544 www.youngminds.org.uk
Rethink 0300 500 0927 www.rethink.org

SUICIDE

Samaritans 116 123 www.samaritans.org
Get Connected (under 25) 0808 808 4994 www.getconnected.org.uk
SANE 0300 304 7000 www.sane.org.uk
CALM (mainly for men aged 15-55) 0800 58 58 58 www.thecalmzone.net
Papyrus (under 35s) 0800 068 41 41 www.papyrus-uk.org
SOBS (Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide) 0300 111 5065 www.sobs.org.uk
AMPARO 0330 088 9255    http://listening-ear.co.uk/amparo/

TERMINAL ILLNESS

Marie Curie 0800 090 2309 www.mariecurie.org.uk
Cruse 0808 808 1677 www.cruse.org.uk
Macmillan Cancer Resource Centre 01625 663128
East Cheshire Hospice 01625 610364

TRAUMA

Headway 0808 800 2244 www.headway.co.uk
East Cheshire Counselling 07578 100256 www.eastcheshirecounselling.com

YOUNG PEOPLE

Childline 0800 1111 www.childline.org.uk
Young Minds 0808 802 5544 www.youngminds.org.uk
FRANK 0800 776 600 www.talktofrank.com
Cheshire East Youth Support Service 01625 384320
Visyon 01260 290000 www.visyon.org.uk
Just Drop In 01625 665079 www.justdropin.co.uk