Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting (Mayor Making)

Held on Thursday, 22nd May 2025 at 7.00 p.m.

1. Election of the Town Mayor for the ensuing year

CTC/01/2526 Resolved to appoint Cllr Robert Brittain as Mayor for the ensuing year.

2. Vote of thanks for the retiring Town Mayor

Cllr Richard Walton proposed a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor Cllr Kay Wesley.

3. Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Cllr Dawn Allen, Charles Booth, David Brown, Russell Chadwick, Arabella Holland, Heather Peace and Liz Wardlaw.

4. Election of Deputy Town Mayor for the Ensuing Year

CTC/02/2526 Resolved to appoint Cllr Suzy Firkin as Deputy Mayor.

5. Council Committees and quantity of members

CTC/03/2526 Resolved to approve the constitution and membership of the following committees:

Committee		Members				
Community	10	David Brown	Mark	Emma Hall	Sally Ann	Amanda Martin
			Edwardson		Holland	
		Susan Mead	Shaun	Richard	Kay Wesley	Glen Williams
			Radcliffe	Walton		
Environment	10	Suzie Akers	Dawn Allen	Charles	David Brown	Suzy Firkin
		Smith		Booth		
		Sally Ann	Susan Mead	Heather	Heather	Glen Williams
		Holland		Pearce	Seddon	
Finance and	10	Suzie Akers	Dawn Allen	Charles	Russell	Robert Douglas
Policy		Smith		Booth	Chadwick	
		Mark	Arabella	Heather	Rob Moreton	Liz Wardlaw
		Edwardson	Holland	Pearce		

Personnel	10	Suzie Akers	Dave Brown	Russell	Robert	Sally Ann
		Smith		Chadwick	Douglas	Holland
		Amanda	Robert	Richard	Kay Wesley	Glen Williams
		Martin	Moreton	Walton		
Planning	10	Suzie Akers	Dawn Allen	Charles	David Brown	Robert Douglas
		Smith		Booth		
		Mark	Amanda	Robert	Liz Wardlaw	Kay Wesley
		Edwardson	Martin	Moreton		
Town Hall	10	Suzie Akers	Russell	Mark	Arabella	Sally Ann
Assets and		Smith	Chadwick	Edwardson	Holland	Holland
Services		Susan Mead	Heather	Richard	Liz Wardlaw	Glen Williams
			Pearce	Walton		

6. Appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees

CTC/04/2526 Resolved to appoint the following Chairs and Vice Chairs of committees:

Committee	Chair	Vice Chair
Community	Kay Wesley	Sally Ann Holland
Environment	Suzy Firkin	Heather Pearce
Finance and Policy	Robert Douglas	Charles Booth
Personnel	Richard Walton	David Brown
Planning	Amanda Martin	Charles Booth
Town Hall, Assets and Services	Russell Chadwick	Liz Wardlaw
Strategy Working Group	Mayor	Deputy Mayor

7. Appointment of Working Groups

CTC/05/2526 Resolved to appoint the following Working Groups and councillor membership:

Working Groups			Members		
Community Safety	Robert Brittain	Sally Ann	Susan Mead	Shaun	Richard
		Holland		Radcliffe	Walton
	Kay Wesley	Glen Williams			
Congleton In Bloom	Dave Brown	Robert Brittain	Russell	Susan	Heather
			Chadwick	Mead	Seddon
	Glen Williams				
Neighbourhood Plan	David Brown	Suzy Firkin	Amanda	Liz	Kay Wesley
Development			Martin	Wardlaw	
Regeneration and	David Brown	Russell	Robert	Suzy Firkin	Amanda
Town Centre		Chadwick	Douglas		Martin

	Susan Mead	Kay Wesley			
White Ribbon	Mark	Heather	Shaun	Richard	Kay Wesley
	Edwardson	Pearce	Radcliffe	Walton	
Strategy	All Councillors				

8. Appointment of representatives to outside bodies, other offices and panels

CTC/06/2526 Resolved to appoint the following councillors as representatives to outside Bodies, other offices and panels:

Outside Bodies	Number	
Astbury Mere Trust	1	Mark Edwardson
Chalc	1	Amanda Martin
Cheshire East Liaison	6	Congleton Ward Councillors
Congleton Museum Trust	1	Suzy Firkin
Congleton Partnership Executive Group	2	Amanda Martin, Richard Walton
Hilary Avenue Allotment Association	1	Susan Mead
Congleton Community Projects	1	Richard Walton

CIVIC	Number	
Macebearer	1	Sally Ann Holland
Deputy Macebearer	1	Suzie Akers Smith
PANELS AND SIGNATORIES		
Complaints Panel	7	Town Mayor, Deputy Mayor plus one
Complaints Panel	/	from each group
Coloction Danal for an ention	7	Town Mayor, Deputy Mayor plus one
Selection Panel for co-option	/	from each group
		Mayor, Cllrs Robert Douglas, David
Cheque Signatories	6	Brown, Amanda Martin, Suzy Firkin,
		Rob Moreton

9. Civic Service and Sunday Parade

It was noted that the Civic Service would take place on Sunday the 22nd June 2025 with the parade commencing at 2.30 pm from the Town Hall for a 3 pm service at St Peter's Church.