## **Congleton Town Council**

# Minutes of the Council Meeting held at Congleton Town Hall on 29<sup>th</sup> June 2023

For the papers discussed at the meeting, please see the Meeting Agenda of the Council 29<sup>th</sup> June 2023

**Present:** 

Councillors: Rob Moreton (Mayor and Chair)

Suzie Akers Smith David Brown Charles Booth Robert Brittain Mark Edwardson Suzy Firkin

Sally Ann Holland Amanda Martin Susan Mead Shaun Radcliffe Richard Walton Liz Wardlaw Kay Wesley Glen Williams

**Congleton Town Council Officers**: David McGifford (Chief Officer) and Jackie MacArthur, Communities and Marketing Manager and DCO

- There were no members of the press in attendance.
- No members of the public in attendance

# 1. Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Dawn Allen, Russell Chadwick, Robert Douglas, Emma Louise Hall, Arabella Holland, Heather Pearce and Heather Seddon

### 2. <u>Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interest</u>

Declarations of Interest were received from Councillors Rob Moreton (Mayor) David Brown, Sally Ann Holland and Liz Wardlaw

### 3. Questions from Members of the Public

There were no questions from members of the public

### 4. Urgent Items

There were no urgent items

## 5. To formulate a Congleton Town Council response to CEC Library Consultation

CTC/28/2324 Resolved that the Town Council's response to the CEC Library Consultation should be as follows

Congleton Town Council rejects the need for Congleton's library to be closed for 1.5 days per week based upon the vital support this service provides for our growing community, as stated within the information that Cheshire East Council has provided.

With Cheshire East Council and other potential partners, Congleton Town Council wishes to explore mutually beneficial ways in which we can keep Congleton Library fully functioning across the 6 days per week. Our ambition is to protect the benefits for our community but also support the CEC officers who work within the library service in Congleton.

Robert Moreton (Town Mayor)