Congleton Town Council

Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting/Mayor Making Ceremony held at Congleton Town Hall on Thursday 25th May 2023

PRESENT: Councillors

Suzie Akers Smith Charles Booth Robert Brittain Robert Douglas Mark Edwardson Suzy Firkin Emma Louise Hall Arabella Holland

Sally Ann Holland Amanda Martin Susan Mead Rob Moreton Heather Pearce Shaun Radcliffe Heather Seddon Liz Wardlaw Richard Walton Kay Wesley Glen Williams

1. Election of the Town Mayor for the Ensuing Year

CTC/01/2324 RESOLVED that Councillor Robert Moreton be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by his successor. Councillor Robert Moreton then read and signed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Town Mayor addressed the meeting and gave thanks for his election.

2. Vote of Thanks for the Retiring Town Mayor

CTC/02/2324 RESOLVED that a vote of thanks be accorded to Councillor Margaret Gartside for the able way she had undertaken her duties during her time in Office.

2.1 Presentation of the Former Town Mayor's Medallion

The Town Mayor presented Councillor Margaret Gartside with the former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed to record her Term of Office.

2.2 Presentation of the Retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Medallion

Councillor Margaret Gartside gave thanks to the retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Katie Leigh Newson and presented her with a badge and certificate.

2.3 Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme & Appointment of the Town Mayor's Cadet

The Town Mayor gave details of the Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme and invested the next Town Mayor's Cadet, Amelia Dowling with her badge of office.

3. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Dawn Allen, David Brown and Russell Chadwick.

4. Election of Deputy Town Mayor for the Ensuing Year

CTC/03/2324 RESOLVED that Councillor Kay Wesley be appointed Deputy Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and then read and signed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

5. Council Committees

CTC/04/2324 RESOLVED that the following committees and members should be appointed for the Municipal year 2023/24

	Committee	Members	
5.1	Community	10	Cllr Kay Wesley, Cllr Emma Hall, Cllr David Brown, Cllr Mark Edwardson, Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr Arabella Holland, Cllr Sally Ann Holland, Cllr Susan Mead, Cllr Shaun Radcliffe, Cllr Glen Williams
5.2	Environment	10	Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr Heather Pearce, Cllr Suzie Akers Smith, Cllr Charles Booth, Cllr David Brown, Cllr Sally Ann Holland, Cllr Amanda Martin, Cllr Susan Mead, Cllr Heather Seddon Cllr Glen Williams
5.3	Finance and Policy	10	Cllr Robert Douglas, Cllr Charles Booth, Cllr Suzie Akers Smith, Cllr Robert Brittain, Cllr Mark Edwardson, Cllr Emma Hall, Cllr Arabella Holland, Cllr Heather Pearce, Cllr Liz Wardlaw, Cllr Richard Walton
5.4	Personnel	10	Cllr David Brown, Cllr Richard Walton, Cllr Suzie Akers Smith, Cllr Robert Brittain, Cllr Russell Chadwick, Cllr Robert Douglas, Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr Amanda Martin, Cllr Heather Seddon, Cllr Glen Williams
5.5	Planning Committee	10	Cllr Amanda Martin, Cllr Robert Brittain, Cllr Suzie Akers Smith, Cllr Dawn Allen, Cllr Charles Booth, Cllr David Brown, Cllr Robert Douglas, Cllr Suzy Firkin
5.6	Town Hall Assets and Services	10	Cllr Suzie Akers Smith, Cllrs Liz Wardlaw, Cllr Robert Brittain Cllr Russell Chadwick, Cllr Mark Edwardson, Cllr Suzy Firkin Cllr Amanda Martin, Cllr Susan Mead, Cllr Heather Pearce Cllr Glen Williams

6. Appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees

CTC/05/2324 RESOLVED to appoint the following Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs for the Municipal Year 2023/24:

	Committee	Chair	Vice Chair
6.1	Community	Cllr Kay Wesley	Cllr Emma Hall
6.2	Environment	Cllr Suzy Firkin	Cllr Heather Pearce
6.3	Finance and Policy	Cllr Robert Douglas	Cllr Charles Booth
6.4	Personnel	Cllr David Brown	Cllr Richard Walton
6.5	Planning Committee	Cllr Amanda Martin	Cllr Robert Brittain
6.6	Town Hall Assets and Services	Cllr Suzie Akers Smith	Cllr Liz Wardlaw

7. Appointment of Working Groups

CTC/06/2324 RESOLVED to appoint the following Working Groups for the Municipal Year 2023/24:

	Working Group	Reporting to	Members
7.1	Anti-Social Behaviour	Community Committee	Cllr Dawn Allen, Cllr Robert Brittain, Cllr Sally Ann Holland, Cllr Amanda Martin, Cllr Susan Mead, Cllr Rob Moreton Cllr Shaun Radcliffe, Cllr Kay Wesley, Cllr Glen Williams, Cllr R Walton
7.2	Congleton Green	Environment Committee	Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr Amanda Martin, Cllr Heather Pearce, Cllr Heather Seddon, Cllr Kay Wesley, Cllr Glen Williams
7.3	Congleton In Bloom	Community Committee	Cllr Suzie Akers Smith, Cllr Charles Booth, Cllr Robert Brittain, Cllr Dave Brown, Cllr Russell Chadwick, Cllr Susan Mead, Cllr Rob Moreton, Cllr Heather Pearce, Cllr Heather Seddon, Cllr Glen Williams
7.4	Health and Wellbeing	Community Committee	Cllr Dawn Allen, Cllr Dave Brown, Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr Emma Hall Cllr Arabella Holland, Cllr Heather Pearce, Cllr Richard Walton Cllr Liz Wardlaw, Cllr Kay Wesley, A Martin
7.5	Integrated Transport	Environment Committee	Cllr Suzie Akers Smith, Cllr David Brown, Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr Amanda Martin, Cllr Heather Pearce, Cllr Kay Wesley Cllr Glen Williams.
7.6	Neighbourhood Plan Development	Planning Committee	Cllr David Brown, Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr Sally Ann Holland, Cllr Amanda Martin, Cllr Heather Pearce, Cllr Liz Wardlaw Cllr Kay Wesley

7.7	Regeneration and	Finance and Policy Committee	Cllr David Brown, Cllr Russell Chadwick,
	Town Centre		Cllr Robert Douglas, Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr
			Amanda Martin, Cllr Susan Mead
			Cllr Kay Wesley
7.8	White Ribbon	Community Committee	Cllr David Brown, Cllr Mark Edwardson,
			Cllr Sally Ann Holland, Cllr Rob Moreton,
			Cllr Shaun Radcliffe, Cllr Richard Walton
			Cllr Liz Wardlaw, Cllr Kay Wesley, Cllr
			Glen Williams
7.9	Strategy	Council	All Councillors

8. Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies, other offices and panels

CTC/07/2223 RESOLVED to appoint the following representatives to Outside Bodies, other offices and panels for the Municipal Year 2023/24

	Outside Bodies	Number		
8.1	Astbury Mere Trust	1+	Cllr Suzie Akers Smith,	
		Reserve	(res Cllr Mark Edwardson)	
8.2	Chalc	1+	Clir Amanda Martin	
		Reserve	Cllr Amanda Martin	
8.3	Cheshire East Liaison	6	5 Congleton Ward Councillors	
8.4	Congleton Museum Trust	1	Cllr Suzy Firkin	
8.5	Congleton Partnership Executive Group	2	To be confirmed	
8.6	Hilary Avenue Allotment Association	1	Cllr Susan Mead	

	CIVIC	Number	
8.7	Macebearer	1	Cllr Suzie Akers Smith
8.8	Deputy Macebearer	1	Cllr Sally Ann Holland
	PANELS AND SIGNATORIES		
8.9	Complaints Panel	7	Town Mayor and Deputy Mayor plus
			one from each group
8.10	Selection Panel for co option	7	Town Mayor and Deputy Mayor plus
			one from each group
8.11	Cheque Signatories	6	Cllr Robert Douglas, Cllr Russell
			Chadwick, Cllr David Brown, Cllr
			Amanda Martin, Cllr Suzy Firkin, Cllr Kay
			Wesley

9. General Power of Competence (enclosed)

CTC/08/22324 RESOLVED to approve the adoption of the General Power of Competence for the term of this council 2023-27

10. Honorary Burgess

CTC/09/2324 RESOLVED to approve Mr George Robert Edwards as an Honorary Burgess to the Town Council

11. Civic Service and Sunday Parade

The Mayor advised that the Civic Service will take place on the 2nd July 2023

The Town Mayor then declared the meeting closed.

Mayor

To: All Members of the Council

CC: Town Burgess (5), Congleton Information Centre, Congleton Library, MP and Press (3)