Congleton Town Council

Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting/Mayor Making Ceremony held at Congleton Town Hall on Thursday 12th May 2022

For the papers discussed at the meeting, please see the Meeting Agenda of the Annual Council Meeting/Mayor Making Ceremony 12th May 2022

PRESENT: Councillors

Martin Amies David Brown Russell Chadwick **Robert Douglas** Paul Duffy Suzie Firkin Margaret Gartside Sally Ann Holland George Hayes **Robert Hemsley** Amanda Martin Denis Murphy Rob Moreton Mark Rogan James Smith Kay Wesley

Duncan Amies

1. <u>Election of the Town Mayor for the Ensuing Year</u>

CTC/01/2223 RESOLVED that Councillor Margaret Gartside be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor Margaret Gartside then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Councillor Margaret Gartside (Town Mayor) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the meeting and gave thanks for her election.

2. <u>Vote of Thanks for the Retiring Mayor</u>

CTC/02/2223 RESOLVED that a vote of thanks be accorded to Councillor Denis Murphy for the able way he had undertaken his duties during his time in Office.

2.1 Presentation of the Former Town Mayor's Medallion

The Town Mayor presented Councillor Denis Murphy with the former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed to record his Term of Office.

2.2 Presentation of the Retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Medallion

Councillor Denis Murphy then responded giving thanks to the retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Tom Gilman and presented him with his Medallion. The retiring Town Mayor's Cadet gave thanks for the opportunity afforded to his in the role.

2.3 Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme & Appointment of the Town Mayor's Cadet

The Town Mayor then gave details of the Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme and invested the next Town Mayor's Cadet, Katie-Leigh Newson with her badge of office.

3. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Suzie Akers Smith and Jean Parry.

4. Election of Deputy Mayor

CTC/03/2223 RESOLVED that Councillor Rob Moreton be appointed Deputy Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the Acceptance of Office by his successor.

5. <u>Council Committees</u>

CTC/04/2223 RESOLVED that membership of the Committees be as follows: -

Committee	Members	Councillors
5.1 Community and Environment	10	Dawn Allen, Paul Duffy, Suzy Firkin, Robert Hemsley Sally Ann Holland, Amanda Martin, Denis Murphy,
5.2 Finance and Policy	10	Jean Parry, Mark Rogan, Kay Wesley Suzie Akers Smith, Duncan Amies, David Brown, Russell Chadwick, Robert Douglas, Paul Duffy, George Hayes, Denis Murphy, Jean Parry, James Smith
5.3 Personnel	10	Suzie Akers Smith, Martin Amies, Dawn Allen, David Brown, Russell Chadwick, Amanda Martin, Sally Ann Holland, Robert Douglas, James Smith, Kay Wesley
5.4 Planning	12	Duncan Amies Martin Amies, David Brown, Robert Douglas, Paul Duffy, Suzy Firkin, Robert Hemsley, Amanda Martin, Denis Murphy, Jean Parry, Mark Rogan, James Smith, Kay Wesley
5.5 Town Hall, Assets and Services	10	Suzie Akers Smith, Dawn Allen, Duncan Amies, Martin Amies, David Brown, Russell Chadwick, Robert Douglas, Suzy Firkin, George Hayes, Robert Hemsley
5.6 Council	20	All Councillors
5.7 Strategy Working Group	20	All Councillors

6. Chair & Vice Chair of Committees

CTC/05/2223 RESOLVED that the following Members be appointed as Chair and Vice-Chair of Committees for the ensuing year:

Committee	Chair	Vice Chair
6.1 Community Environment and Services	Cllr Kay Wesley	Cllr Sally Ann Holland
6.2 Finance and Policy	Cllr Robert Douglas	Cllr Russell Chadwick
6.3 Personnel	Cllr David Brown	Cllr James Smith
6.4 Planning	Cllr Amanda Martin	Cllr Robert Hemsley
6.5 Town Hall, Assets and Services	Cllr Suzy Firkin	Cllr George Hayes
6.6 Strategy Working Group	Mayor	Deputy Mayor

7. Appointment of Members to Working Groups

CTC/06/2223 RESOLVED that the following Members be appointed to the Working Groups as set out below:

Working Group	Reporting to	Members
		Kay Wesley (Chair),
7.1 Anti-Social Behaviour	Community &	Dawn Allen, Amanda Martin,
	Environment Committee	Rob Moreton, Denis Murphy
		Margaret Gartside (Chair),
7.2 Congleton Green	Community &	Martin Amies, Suzy Firkin, Amanda Martin,
	Environment Committee	Mark Rogan, Kay Wesley
7.3 Congleton in Bloom	Community &	David Brown (Chair),
	Environment Committee	Margaret Gartside, Russell Chadwick
		Dawn Allen (Chair),
7.4 Health and Wellbeing	Community &	David Brown, Suzy Firkin, Margaret
	Environment Committee	Gartside, Mark Rogan, Kay Wesley
		Duncan Amies, David Brown, Suzy Firkin,
7.5 Integrated Transport	Community &	Margaret Gartside, Amanda Martin,
	Environment Committee	Kay Wesley
		Russell Chadwick (Chair),
7.6 Congleton Regeneration	Finance & Policy	Robert Douglas (Vice Chair)
	Committee	Martin Amies, David Brown, Suzy Firkin,
		Amanda Martin, Rob Moreton,
		Kay Wesley
		David Brown (Joint Chair)
7.7 Streetscape Development	Town Hall, Assets &	Margaret Gartside (Joint Chair)
	Services Committee	Duncan Amies, Martin Amies,
		Robert Douglas, Amanda Martin,
		Kay Wesley
		Suzy Firkin (Chair), Margaret Gartside
7.8 Town Hall Development	Town Hall, Assets &	(Vice Chair), Martin Amies, David Brown,
	Services Committee	Russell Chadwick, Robert Douglas,
		Robert Hemsley

7.9 Planning Development		Duncan Amies, David Brown,
(Including Neighbourhood	Planning Committee	Robert Hemsley, Sally Ann Holland,
Plan)		Amanda Martin, Kay Wesley
		David Brown (Chair)
7.10 750 Year Celebration	Community &	Suzy Firkin, Margaret Gartside,
	Environment Committee	Rob Moreton, Kay Wesley
7.11 White Ribbon	Community &	Robert Hemsley (Chair)
	Environment Committee	Robert Douglas, Mark Rogan,

8. Appointments of Panel Members and Cheque Signatories

CTC/07/2223 RESOLVED that the requisite number of Councillors be appointed to serve on the following panels and specific Councillors become cheque signatories:

Panel	Members	Councillors
	5	Mayor, Deputy Mayor and 1 Councillor selected from each
Complaints Panel		group - i.e., Liberals, Conservatives, and Independent/
		Women's Equality Party
Selection panel for co-	5	Mayor, Deputy Mayor and 1 Councillor selected from each
option of a councillor		group i.e., Liberals, Conservatives and Independent/
		Women's Equality Party
Cheque signatories – any 2	6	David Brown, Russell Chadwick, Robert Douglas,
from 6		Amanda Martin, Denis Murphy, Jean Parry

9. Appointments of Representatives to Outside Bodies

CTC/08/2223 RESOLVED that the following Members be appointed to the outside bodies set out below:

Organisation	Members	Councillors
9.1 Congleton Museum Trust	1 + Reserve	Kay Wesley and Suzy Firkin (Reserve)
9.2 Congleton Partnership	2	Amanda Martin and Kay Wesley (Reserve)
Executive		
9.3 Hilary Avenue Allotments	1	Rob Moreton
9.4 Astbury Mere Trust	1+ Reserve	Margaret Gartside and Martin Amies (Reserve)
9.5 ChAlc	1+ Reserve	Amanda Martin and Kay Wesley (Reserve)
9.6 Cheshire East Liaison	6	Relevant Ward Councillors

10. Appointments to Other Offices

CTC/09/2223 RESOLVED that the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

Office	Councillor
Town Crier	Paul Duffy
Deputy Town Crier	Rob Moreton
Macebearer	Paul Duffy
Deputy Macebearer	Rob Moreton

11. Civic Service and Sunday Parade

The Mayor advised the meeting that the date for the Civic Service would be on Sunday 19th June, the Parade will form-up behind the Town Hall at 2pm ready to parade along the High Street to St Peter's Church at 2.15pm.

Margaret Gartside (TOWN MAYOR)