Congleton Town Council

Minutes of the Emergency Meeting of the Council held on Thursday 1st August 2019 Town Hall Congleton

PRESENT: Councillors

Suzanne Akers Smith Martin Amies David Brown Russell Chadwick Suzy Firkin Margaret Gartside George Hayes Paul Duffy Robert Hemsley Amanda Martin Jean Parry Mark Rogan James Smith Kay Wesley

1. Agreement for the Chair for the meeting

In the absence of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, Councillors to agree the chair for the meeting.

CTC/26/1920 RESOLVED to appoint Cllr David Brown as Chair for the meeting

2. Apologies for absence. (Members are respectfully reminded of the necessity to submit any apologies for absence in advance and to give a reason for non attendance).

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Dawn Allen Robert Douglas, Sally Ann Holland (Town Mayor) and Denis Murphy

3. <u>Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interest</u>

Members are requested to declare both "non pecuniary" and "pecuniary" interests as early in the meeting as they become aware of it.

Cllrs S A Smith, D Brown and G Hayes declared their interest in matters relating to Cheshire East Council.

4. Questions from Members of the Public

To receive any questions from Members of the Public including those received in writing 7 days prior to the meeting which relate to the agenda item below.

No questions were received from members of the public.

5. Congleton Cenotaph

For the Council to agree its position on the commencement date for the regeneration of the Cenotaph.

Cllr Paul Duffy proposed that there should be a named vote against this item, this was supported by Cllr Suzie Akers Smith.

CTC/27/1920 RESOLVED to not commence with the planned date for the construction phase of the Cenotaph due to concerns about it being completed in time for the Remembrance Day parade. The construction phase should commence as soon as is practicable afterwards. 8 in support 6 against

Councillors who supported this proposal were -

Cllrs - Paul Duffy, Robert Hemsley, James Smith, Mark Rogan, Martin Amies, Suzy Firkin, Margaret Gartside and Suzie Akers Smith

Those who were against the proposal were -

Cllrs - Russell Chadwick, George Hayes, Kay Wesley, Amanda Martin, Jean Parry and David Brown.

(Chair)
Cllr David Brown