Congleton Town Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting to the Town Council

Held at the Town Hall, Congleton on 23rd May 2019

PRESENT: Councillors Mrs S Akers Smith

Mrs D Allen
D Amies
M Amies
R Chadwick
R Douglas
P Duffy
Mrs S Firkin
Mrs M Gartside
R Helmsley
Mrs S A Holland
Mrs A M Martin
R Moreton
D Murphy
M Rogan
Mrs K Wesley

1. <u>Election of the Town Mayor for the Ensuing Year</u>

CTC/1/1920 RESOLVED –That Councillor Mrs Sally Ann Holland be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor Mrs Sally Ann Holland then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

COUNCILLOR Mrs Sally Ann Holland (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the meeting and gave thanks for her election.

The Town Mayor then invested her Consort Mr David Holland with the Chain of Office.

2. Vote of Thanks for the Retiring Mayor

CTC/2/1920 RESOLVED That a vote of thanks be accorded to Cllr Mrs S Akers Smith for the able manner in which she had undertaken her duties during the year she was in Office.

2.1 <u>Presentation of the Former Town Mayor's Medallion</u>

The Town Mayor thereupon presented Cllr Mrs S Akers Smith with the Former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed, to record her Term of Office.

2.2 <u>Presentation of the retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Medallion</u>

Cllr Mrs Akers Smith then responded and presented the retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Clara Jackson with a medallion.

2.3 Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme & Appointment of the Town Mayor's Cadet

The Town Mayor then gave details of the Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme and invested the next Town Mayor's Cadet, Eloise Williams with her badge of office.

3. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D T Brown, G P Hayes, Mrs J Parry and J Smith.

4. Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council

CTC/3/1920 RESOLVED that amendments be made to the Constitution to remove the positions of Leader of the Council and Deputy Leader of the Council.

5. Adoption of the General Power of Competence

CTC/4/1920 RESOLVED that the General Power of Competence be adopted by the Council.

6. <u>Election of Deputy Mayor</u>

CTC/5/1920 RESOLVED that Councillor D Murphy be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by his successor. Mrs Joan Myatt to be appointed as the Deputy Mayor's Consort for the ensuing Municipal Year.

7. Council Committees

CTC/6/1920 RESOLVED - That membership of the Committees be as follows:-

7.1 Planning Committee

All Members of the Council.

7.2 Personnel Committee – 10 Members

Councillors DT Brown, S Akers Smith, D Allen, M Amies, R Chadwick, A Martin, M Gartside, R Hemsley, J Smith, K Wesley.

7.3 Finance & Policy Committee - 10 Members

Councillors M Rogan, Duncan Amies, R Chadwick, D Brown, J Parry, G Hayes, R Douglas, J Smith, P Duffy and R Moreton

7.4 Community, Environment & Services Committee (C,E&S) - 10 Members

Councillors K Wesley, M. Rogan, Martin Amies, D Allen, J Parry, A Martin, S Firkin, D Murphy, P Duffy and M Gartside.

7.5 Congleton Town Hall & Assets - 10 Members

Councillors Duncan Amies, R Moreton, Mrs S Akers Smith, G Hayes, D Allen, D Brown, S Firkin, R Helmsey, R Douglas and D Murphy.

7.6 Strategy Working Group

All Members of the Council.

8. Chairman & Vice Chairman of Committees

CTC/7/1920 RESOLVED that the following Members be appointed Chairman and Vice-Chairman of Committees for the ensuing year:-

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Finance and Policy	Cllr Douglas	Cllr Chadwick
Community Environment and Services	Cllr Wesley	Cllr Allen
Congleton Town Hall and Assets	Cllr Hayes	Cllr Firkin
Personnel	Cllr Brown	Cllr Gartside
Planning	Cllr Duffy	Cllr Martin
Strategy	Mayor	Deputy Mayor

9. Appointment of Members to Single Focus Committees and Working Groups

CTC/8/1920 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

		Members	Councillors
9.1	Complaints Panel	5	Mayor, Deputy Mayor and 1 councillor
			selected from each group
9.2	Selection panel for co-option of a	5	Mayor, Deputy Mayor and 1 councillor
	councillor		selected from each group
9.3	Anti Social Behaviour Working Group	4	Cllrs Wesley (Chairman) Moreton,
			Deputy Mayor and Martin
9.4	Health and Wellbeing Working Group	Up to 8	Cllrs Allen (Chairman) Wesley, Firkin,
			Gartside, Brown, Rogan, Akers Smith
9.5	Congleton Market Working Group	Up to 4	Cllrs Brown (Chairman), Douglas, Martin
			and Martin Aimies
9.6	Streetscape Sweeper Working Group	2	Cllrs Douglas and Parry
9.7	Cheque signatories – any 2 from 6	6	Cllrs Brown, Martin, Parry, Wesley
			,Murphy and Douglas

10. Appointments to Outside Bodies

CTC/9/1920 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the outside bodies set out below:

		Qty	Councillors	
10.1	Congleton Museum Trust	1+res	Cllrs Wesley and Firkin	
10.2	Congleton Partnership Executive	2	Cllrs Wesley and Martin	
10.3	Hilary Avenue Allotments	1	Cllr Smith	
10.4	Astbury Mere Trust	1+ res	Cllrs Gartside and Duncan Amies	
10.5	Chalc	1+ res	Cllrs Martin and Mayor	
10.6	Cheshire East Liaison -		Relevant Ward Councillors	
10.7	Cenotaph Working Group	2	Cllrs Allen and Douglas	
10.8	In Bloom	3	Cllrs Gartside, Martin and Brown	
10.9	Neighbourhood Planning	5	Cllrs Duffy, Rogan, Allen, Duncan Amies	
	Steering Group		and Brown	

11. Appointments to Other Offices

CTC/10/1920 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the outside bodies set out below:

11.1	Town Crier	1	Paul Bates
11.2	Deputy Town Crier	1	Cllr Paul Duffy
11.3	Macebearer	1	Paul Bates
11.4	Deputy Macebearer	1	Cllr Paul Duffy

12. MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Andrew Lindley had been appointed as the Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year.

13. MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 2nd June 2019 at Trinity Church, Wagg Street, Congleton at 3.00pm.

Mrs S A Holland **TOWN MAYOR**