Congleton Town Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting to the Town Council

Held at the Town Hall, Congleton on 17th May 2018

PRESENT: Councillors

Mrs S Akers Smith

P Bates
C H Booth
P Broom
G R Edwards
G P Hayes
Mrs S A Holland
Mrs A M Martin
H Richards
M A Walker
Mrs E Wardlaw
G S Williams

1. Election of the Town Mayor for the Ensuing Year

CTC/1/1819 RESOLVED –That Councillor Mrs S Akers Smith be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor Mrs S Akers Smith then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

COUNCILLOR Mrs S Akers Smith (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the meeting and gave thanks for her election.

The Town Mayor then invested her Consort Mr Peter Akers Smith with the Chain of Office.

2. Vote of Thanks for the Retiring Mayor

CTC/2/1819 RESOLVED That a vote of thanks be accorded to Cllr C H Booth for the able manner in which he had undertaken his duties during the year he was in Office.

2.1 Presentation of the Former Town Mayor's Medallion

The Town Mayor thereupon presented Cllr C H Booth with the Former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed, to record his Term of Office.

2.2 Presentation of the retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Medallion

Cllr C H Booth, then responded and presented the retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Joesph Crinks with a medallion.

2.3 Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme & Appointment of the Town Mayor's Cadet

The Town Mayor then gave details of the Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme and invested the next Town Mayor's Cadet, Clara Jackson with her badge of office.

3. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs D S Allen, Mrs A L Armitt, J G Baggott, L D Barker, R Boston, D T Brown, Mrs A E Morrison and Mrs J Parry.

4. Election of Deputy Mayor

CTC/3/1819 RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs S A Holland be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by her successor. David Holland to be appointed as the Deputy Mayor's Consort for the ensuing Municipal Year.

5. <u>Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council</u>

CTC/4/1819 RESOLVED that Councillor G R Edwards be elected Leader of the Council and Councillor D T Brown be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

6. Council Committees

CTC/5/1819 RESOLVED - That membership of the Committees be as follows:-

6.1 Planning Committee

All Members of the Council.

6.2 Personnel Committee - 10 Members

Councillors DT Brown, P Bates, G R Edwards, Mrs S A Smith, JG Baggott, L D Barker, C H Booth, Mrs A M Martin, H Richards and G S Williams.

6.3 Finance & Policy Committee – 10 Members

Councillors G R Edwards, Mrs J D Parry, Mrs D S Allen, Mrs S A Smith, J G Baggott, P Bates, R Boston, Mrs S A Holland, M A Walker and Mrs E Wardlaw.

6.4 Community, Environment & Services Committee (C,E&S) – 10 Members

Councillors Mrs S A Holland, C H Booth, Mrs D S Allen, Mrs A L Armitt, R Boston, P Broom, G P Hayes, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J D Parry and G S Williams.

6.5 Congleton Town Hall & Assets - 10 Members

Councillors G P Hayes, Mrs A E Morrison, Mrs S Akers Smith, Mrs A L Armitt, L D Barker, P Broom, D T Brown, H Richards, M A Walker and Mrs E Wardlaw.

6.6 Strategy Working Group

All Members of the Council.

7 Chairman & Vice Chairman of Committees

CTC/6/1819 RESOLVED that the following Members be appointed Chairman and Vice-Chairman of Committees for the ensuing year:-

| | Committee | Chairman | Vice Chairman |
|-----|------------------------------------|---------------------------|------------------|
| 7.1 | Personnel | D T Brown (Deputy Leader) | P Bates |
| 7.2 | Finance and Policy | G R Edwards (Leader) | Mrs J D Parry |
| 7.3 | Community Environment and Services | Mrs S A Holland | C H Booth |
| 7.4 | Congleton Town Hall and Assets | G P Hayes | Mrs A E Morrison |
| 7.5 | Planning | L D Barker | Mrs A M Martin |
| 7.6 | Strategy | Leader | Deputy Leader |

8. Appointment of Members to Other Offices

CTC/7/1819 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

| | Office | Name | | |
|--------|-------------------------------------|---|--|--|
| 8.1 | Town Crier | Mr D Parker | | |
| | Deputy Town Crier | Cllr C H Booth | | |
| 8.2 | Curator of Town Treasures | Mr D Parker | | |
| | Assistant Curator of Town Treasures | Cllr D T Brown | | |
| 8.3 | Lead Members on quality | Councillors C H Booth, D T Brown & G R Edwards | | |
| 8.4 | Macebearer | Mr D Parker | | |
| | Deputy Macebearer | Cllr P Bates | | |
| 8.5 | Youth Committee Link Councillors | Mrs A L Armitt, L D Barker, C H Booth, D T Brown, | | |
| 4 from | | G P Hayes, Mrs S A Holland, Mrs J D Parry, and | | |
| | | Mrs E Wardlaw | | |
| 8.6 | Selection Panel for Co-option (5) | Town Mayor, Leader, Chair of Personnel Committee | | |
| | | plus 2 other Councillors | | |
| 8.7 | Complaints Panel | Town Mayor, Leader, Chair of Personnel Committee | | |
| | (quorum 4) | Plus 3 from Committee Chairman | | |
| 8.8 | Cheque signatories - 2 from 6 | - 2 from 6 Councillors J G Baggott, D T Brown, | | |
| | | G R Edwards, Mrs S A Holland, Mrs A M Martin and | | |
| | | Mrs J D Parry | | |

9. Appointments to Outside Bodies

CTC/8/1819 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the outside bodies set out below:

| | Outside Bodies | Number | |
|-----|-------------------------|--------|-----------------------------------|
| 9.1 | Congleton Museum Trust | 1+ Res | Councillors |
| | | | Mrs A E Morrison & Mrs A M Martin |
| 9.2 | Congleton Partnership | 2 | Councillors |
| | Executive Group | | G R Edwards & Mrs A E Morrison |
| 9.3 | Hilary Avenue allotment | 1 | Cllr G S Williams |
| | Association | | |
| 9.4 | Astbury Mere Trust | 1 | Cllr Mrs E Wardlaw |
| 9.5 | ChAlc | 1 | Cllr Mrs S A Holland +any other |
| | | | interested members |
| 9.6 | Cheshire East Liaison | | Relevant CEC Councillor |
| 9.7 | Local Police Liaison | 1+ Res | Councillors |
| | | | P Bates & H Richards |

10. MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Steve Hodgkinson from New Life Church had been appointed as the Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year.

11. MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 17th June 2017 at Congleton Town Hall, High Street, Congleton at 3.00pm.

Mrs S Akers Smith
TOWN MAYOR