# **Congleton Town Council**

Minutes of the meeting of the Youth Committee held on Tuesday, 1<sup>st</sup> May 2012 in the Town Hall, Congleton

PRESENT Youth Councillor Jon Foster (Chairman)

Hannah Booth
Beth Evans
Maddy Summerfield
Ellen Wilkinson
Nathan Davies
Catherine Hassall

Councillors Liz Wardlaw George Hayes

Mrs. Linda Minshull

## 1. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Alex Rushton, Maddy Summerfield and Jack Schofield.

#### 2. MINUTES OF LAST MEETING

**RESOLVED** – That the Minutes of the Meeting of the Committee held on 27<sup>th</sup> March 2012 were signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

## 3. VISIT TO LONDON AND UPDATE ON THE YOUNG PERSON'S REPORT

The Chairman read out a letter dated 25<sup>th</sup> April received from Fiona Bruce M.P. commending the Youth Committee on their excellent Young Person's Report. Fiona stated that she found the presentations impressive and the subsequent discussions very positive and will be arranging meetings to take forward the actions.

A discussion took place regarding distribution of the report and it was agreed that Liz would work with Cathy to draft a letter. Jon, Maddy and Matt will meet to discuss progressing this item. It was agreed to aim to organise a Question Time event in September.

#### 4. IT'S A KNOCKOUT

It was agreed that Jon would send the names of participants to Jackie MacArthur.

#### 5. YOUTH COMMITTEE BANK ACCOUNT

It was reported that after the monies from the coffee morning had been paid in, the balance stands at £685.21 as at 24<sup>th</sup> April 2012. There is still the invoice to be paid for the Library booking.

A discussion took place regarding the distribution of the fund and members were asked to bring ideas to the next meeting.

#### 6. YOUTH COMMITTEE MEMBERS ITEMS

#### **Link Councillors**

The Committee discussed Link Councillors for the forthcoming year and it was

RESOLVED – That Councillors Hayes, Holland, Barker and Wardlaw be requested to remain as the Link Youth Committee Councillors.

#### Jeanne Whitehurst Fellowship

The Committee

RESOLVED – To award the Jeanne Whitehurst Fellowship for 2012 to Jordan Harding Pointon.

## Membership

Emma informed the meeting that she would be resigning from the Committee from 10<sup>th</sup> May due to her age. There was a discussion regarding other membership and it was agreed to look at this item again in more detail.

#### 7. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

None.

#### 8. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next Youth Committee Meeting -

Monday 18<sup>th</sup> June 2012 – 7 p.m.

Jon Foster (Chairman)