Congleton Town Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting to the Town Council

Held at the Town Hall, Congleton on 21st May 2015

PRESENT: Councillors Mrs E Wardlaw

Mrs S Ackers Smith

Mrs D S Allen Mrs A L Armitt

P Bates
N Adams
J G Baggott
C Booth
P Broom
G R Edwards
G P Hayes
Mrs S A Holland
Mrs A M Martin
Mrs A E Morrison

J D Parry H Richards G S Williams

MR D Murphy (RETIRING MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

1. **ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR**

CTC/1/1516 RESOLVED – Unanimously - That Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

COUNCILLOR E. WARDLAW (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the Meeting and gave thanks for her election.

The Town Mayor then invested the Mayor's Consort with the Chain of Office.

2. **VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR**

CTC/2/1516 RESOLVED Unanimously - That a vote of thanks be accorded to Mr D Murphy for the able manner in which he had undertaken his duties during the year he was in Office.

The Town Mayor thereupon presented Mr D Murphy with the Former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed, to record his term of Office. The retiring Mayor, Mr D Murphy, then responded.

3. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mr. L Barker, D.T. Brown and Mr R Boston.

4. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR</u>

CTC/3/1516 RESOLVED - That Councillor Mr D.T. Brown be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by his successor.

5. **LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL**

CTC/4/1516 RESOLVED - That Councillor G R Edwards be elected Leader of the Council and Councillor D T Brown be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

6. **COUNCIL COMMITTEES**

CTC/5/1516 RESOLVED - That membership of the Committees and Working Group be as follows:-

Planning Committee

All Members of the Council.

Personnel Committee

Cllrs D T Brown, L Barker, P Bates, P Broom, Mrs S Ackers Smith, J G Baggott, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J Parry, H Richards and G S Williams.

Finance & Policy Committee

Cllrs P Bates, J G Baggott, G R Edwards, Mrs S A Holland, N Adams, Mrs D S Allen, C Booth, R Boston, Mrs J D Parry and Mrs S Ackers Smith.

Community, Environment & Services Committee

Cllrs Mrs S A Holland, P Broom, G P Hayes, Mrs A L Armitt, N Adams, C Booth, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J D Parry, Mrs A E Morrison and G S Williams.

Congleton Town Hall

Cllrs Mrs D S Allen, Mrs A L Armitt, L Barker, P Broom, R Boston G P Hayes, Mrs S A Holland, Mrs A E Morrison Mrs A M Martin, and H Richards

Strategy Working Group

All Members of the Council.

Health and Wellbeing Working Group

Cllrs E Wardlaw, Mrs A L Armitt, P Broom, C Booth, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs A E Morrison, and Mrs S Ackers Smith,

NOTE: THE MAYOR, DEPUTY MAYOR AND LEADER OF THE COUNCIL ARE EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS OF ALL COMMITTEES.

7. CHAIRMAN & VICE CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES

CTC/6/1516 RESOLVED - That the following Members be appointed Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees for the ensuing year:-

Planning Chairman - Councillor L D Barker
Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs A Martin

Personnel Chairman - Councillor D T Brown

Vice Chairman - Councillor P Bates

Finance & Policy Chairman - Councillor G R Edwards

Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs J D Parry

Community, Environment Chairman - Councillor Mrs S A Holland

& Services Vice Chairman - Councillor P Broom

Congleton Town Hall Chairman - Councillor G P Hayes

& Assets Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs A E Morrison

Strategy Working Group Chairman - Councillor G R Edwards

Vice Chairman - Councillor D T Brown

Health & Wellbeing Chairman - Councillor E Wardlaw Working Group Vice Chairman - Councillor A E Morrison

8. **APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OTHER OFFICES**

CTC/7/1516 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

Town Crier - Mr D A Parker

Curator of Town Treasures - Mr D A Parker

Assistant Curator - Councillor D T Brown

Lead Members on Quality - Councillor D T Brown

Councillor G R Edwards Councillor C Booth

Macebearer - Councillor D A Parker
Deputy - Councillor P Bates

Youth Committee Link - Councillor L Barker

Councillor G P Hayes Councillor Mrs S A Holland Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw

Selection Panel for co-option - Town Mayor

of a Councillor Leader of the Council

Chair of Personnel Committee

Plus 2 Selected Members

Complaints Panel - Town Mayor

Leader of the Council

Deputy Leader of the Council

Neighbourhood Planning - Councillor G R Edwards

Councillor L Barker

Councillor Mrs A M Martin

Replacement Cheque Signatories Councillor P Bates

Councillor J G Baggott

9. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

CTC/8/1516 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed as the Council's representatives to serve on the Body stated, for the ensuing Municipal Year, namely:-

(i) Congleton Museum Trust - Councillor Mrs A E Morrison (Reserve: Councillor Mrs D A Allen)

(ii) Congleton Partnership Executive Group - Councillor G R Edwards
Councillor Mrs A E Morrison

(iii) Hilary Avenue Allotment Association - Councillor G S Williams

(iv) Astbury Mere Trust - Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw

(v) Chalc - Councillor Mrs S A Holland

Councillor Mrs A M Martin

viii) Police Liaison - Councillor P Bates

Councillor H Richards

ix) Cheshire East Liaison - Councillor D T Brown

10. **JEANNE WHITEHURST FELLOWSHIP**

Evie Foster was presented with the Jeanne Whitehurst Fellowship

11 MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Steve Hodgkinson had been appointed as the Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year and informed the Council that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 7th June 2015 at St. Peter's Church, Chapel Street, Congleton at 3.00pm.

12. HONORARY BURGESS

Mr D Parker was presented with a certificate conforming him as an Honorary Burgess of the Town Council

E WARDLAW

TOWN MAYOR