CONGLETON TOWN COUNCIL

MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING TO THE TOWN COUNCIL

Held at the Town Hall, Congleton on 19th May 2011

PRESENT Councillors Mrs D S Allen

L D Barker R I Brightwell D T Brown M Carey D Fletcher G P Hayes Mrs S A Holland Mrs A M Martin D S Martin D A Parker Miss R K Williams

COUNCILLOR D BROWN (RETIRING MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor G Williams.

2. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

CTC/1/1112 RESOLVED Unanimously – That Councillor D Martin be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by his successor.

Councillor D Martin then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

COUNCILLOR D S MARTIN (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the Meeting and gave thanks for his election.

The Town Mayor then invested the Mayoress with the Chain of Office.

3. VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

CTC/2/1112 RESOLVED Unanimously – That a vote of thanks be accorded to Councillor D T Brown for the able manner in which he had undertaken his duties during the year in Office.

The Town Mayor thereupon presented Councillor D T Brown with his Former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed, to record his term of Office as Town Mayor and to which he responded.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

CTC/3/1112 RESOLVED Unanimously – That Councillor Mrs S A Holland be appointed Deputy Town Mayor the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by her successor.

Councillor Mrs S A Holland having received her Chain of Office from the Town Mayor, then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Office.

The Deputy Mayor then invested her Consort with the Chain of Office.

5. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF COUNCIL

CTC/4/1112 RESOLVED – That Councillor G R Edwards be elected Leader of the Council and Councillor Mrs S A Holland be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

6. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

CTC/5/1112 RESOLVED – That membership of the Committees and Working Group be as follows:-

Planning Committee – All Members

<u>Personnel Committee</u> – Cllrs Mrs D S Allen, D T Brown, R I Brightwell, J S Crowther, D Fletcher, G P Hayes, D A Parker and G S Williams.

<u>Finance & Policy Committee</u> – Cllrs G Baxendale, D T Brown, R I Brightwell, G R Edwards, D Fletcher, M J Hutton, D A Parker and Mrs J D Parry.

<u>Amenities & Services Committee</u> – Cllrs Mrs D S Allen, G Baxendale, Mrs S A Holland, D A Parker, Mrs J D Parry, N T Price, G S Williams and Miss R K Williams.

<u>Community & Environment Committee</u> – Cllrs D T Brown, M Carey, D Fletcher, G P Hayes, D A Parker, Mrs J D Parry, N T Price and G S Williams. Co-opted Member Mrs M M Williamson.

<u>Congleton Town Hall</u> – Cllrs Mrs D S Allen, L D Barker, M Carey, G P Hayes, M J Hutton, Mrs A M Martin, D A Parker and Mrs E Wardlaw.

<u>Strategy Working Group</u> – All Members of the Council plus co-opted Member Mrs M M Williamson.

NOTE: THE MAYOR, DEPUTY MAYOR AND LEADER OF THE COUNCIL ARE EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS OF ALL COMMITTEES.

7. <u>CHAIRMEN & VICE CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES</u>

CTC/6/1112 RESOLVED – That the following Members be appointed Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees for the ensuing year:-

Planning	Chairman - Vice Chairman -	Councillor D A Parker Councillor L D Barker
Personnel	Chairman - Vice Chairman -	Councillor D T Brown Councillor G P Hayes
Finance & Policy	Chairman - Vice Chairman -	Councillor G R Edwards Councillor Mrs J D Parry
Amenities & Services	Chairman - Vice Chairman -	Councillor Mrs S A Holland Councillor Miss R K Williams

Community & Environment Chairman - Councillor D Fletcher

Vice Chairman - Councillor G S Williams

Congleton Town Hall Chairman - Councillor D A Parker

Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw

Strategy Working Group Chairman - Councillor G R Edwards

Vice Chairman - Councillor D T Brown

8. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OTHER OFFICES

CTC/7/1112 RESOLVED – That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

Town Crier - Councillor D A Parker

Curator of Town Treasures - Councillor D A Parker Assistant Curator - Councillor D T Brown

Lead Members on Quality - Councillor Mrs D S Allen

Councillor G R Edwards Councillor D T Brown

Macebearer - Councillor D A Parker

Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw (Deputy)

9. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

CTC/8/1112 RESOLVED – That the following members be appointed as the Council's representatives to serve on the Body stated, for the ensuing Municipal Year, namely:-

(i) Congleton Museum Trust - Councillor D S Martin (Town

Mayor)

(Reserve: Councillor Mrs S A

Holland)

(ii) Congleton & Vale Royal Police - Councillor Mrs J D Parry

Local Consultative Committee (Reserve: Councillor Mrs D S

Allen)

(iii) Public Transport Liaison Committee - Councillor Miss R K Williams

(Reserve: Councillor M J Hutton and L D Barker)

(iv) Congleton Partnership Executive Group - Councillor G R Edwards

Councillor G P Hayes Councillor L D Barker Councillor J S Crowther

(v) Hilary Avenue Allotment Association - Councillor G S Williams

(vii) Selection Panel - Councillor G R Edwards

Councillor Mrs D S Allen Councillor J S Crowther Councillor D S Martin Councillor D Fletcher (viii) Congleton Area LAP - Councillor G S Williams

(Reserve: Councillor Mrs D S

Allen)

(ix) Astbury Mere Trust - Councillor D Fletcher

Councillor G Baxendale

(x) Neighbourhood - Councillor G R Edwards

Planning Group - Councillor L D Barker

Councillor M Hutton

(xi) Chalc - Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw

(xii) Youth Committee Liaison - Councillor L D Barker

Councillor G P HayesCouncillor Mrs S A HollandCouncillor Mrs E Wardlaw

(xiii) Cheque Signatures - Councillor G R Edwards

Councillor G P Hayes

Councillor Mrs J D Parry

10. MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Father W Kilkenny had been appointed as Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year and informed the Council that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday, 10th July, 2011 at St. Mary's R.C. Church, West Street, Congleton at 3.00pm.

11. ANNUAL REPORT

CTC/9/1112 RESOLVED – That the Annual Report be approved.

12. ANNUAL RETURN, ANNUAL GOVERNANCE STATEMENT AND ANNUAL ACCOUNTS 2010-11

CTC/10/1112 RESOLVED - That:-

- a. The Annual Governance statement for the year ended 31st March 2010 be approved and adopted.
- b. The Annual Accounts for 2010-11 be approved and adopted.

D. S. MARTIN

TOWN MAYOR