#### **CONGLETON TOWN COUNCIL**

### MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING TO THE TOWN COUNCIL

# Held at the Town Hall, Congleton on 10<sup>th</sup> May 2012

### PRESENT Councillor

L D Barker G Baxendale R I Brightwell D T Brown J S Crowther G R Edwards D Fletcher G P Hayes Mrs S A Holland M J Hutton Mrs A M Martin D Murphy Mrs J D Parry D A Parker N T Price Mrs E Wardlaw

### COUNCILLOR D PARKER (RETIRING MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

**G** Williams

#### 1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs D S Allen and Miss R K Williams.

#### 2. <u>ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR</u>

**CTC/1/1213 RESOLVED** – That Councillor Mrs S A Holland be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by her successor.

Councillor Mrs S A Holland then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

## COUNCILLOR MRS. S A HOLLAND (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the Meeting and gave thanks for her election.

The Town Mayor then invested the Mayor's Consort with the Chain of Office.

## 3. <u>VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR</u>

**CTC/2/1213 RESOLVED** Unanimously – That a vote of thanks be accorded to Councillor D A PARKER for the able manner in which he had undertaken his duties during the part of the year he was in Office.

The retiring Town Mayor thereupon presented Mrs P Martin with the Former Town Mayor's Medallion in honour of the late Councillor D S Martin, suitably inscribed, to record his term of Office. The retiring Mayor Councillor D A PARKER then responded.

### 4. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR</u>

**CTC/3/1213 RESOLVED** – That Councillor G P HAYES be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by his successor.

Councillor G P HAYES having received his Chain of Office from the Town Mayor then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Office.

### 5. <u>LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF COUNCIL</u>

**CTC/4/1213 RESOLVED** – That Councillor G R Edwards be elected Leader of the Council and Councillor D T Brown be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

### 6. <u>COUNCIL COMMITTEES</u>

**CTC/5/1213 RESOLVED** – That membership of the Committees and Working Group be as follows:-

Planning Committee – All Members

<u>Personnel Committee</u> – Cllrs D T Brown, R I Brightwell, J S Crowther, G P Hayes, M J Hutton, Mrs A M Martin, D A Parker Mrs E Wardlaw, Miss R K Williams and G S Williams.

<u>Finance & Policy Committee</u> – Cllrs G Baxendale, D T Brown, R I Brightwell, G R Edwards, D Fletcher, D Murphy, N Price, D A Parker and Mrs J D Parry. (Plus Co-opted)

<u>Community, Environment & Services Committee</u> – Cllrs D S Allen, J S Crowther, D T Brown, D Fletcher, M J Hutton, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J D Parry, Miss R K Williams and G S Williams.

<u>Congleton Town Hall</u> – Cllrs Mrs D S Allen, L D Barker, G Baxendale, J S Crowther, Mrs A M Martin, D A Parker Mrs J Parry, N Price and Mrs E Wardlaw.(plus Co-opted)

Strategy Working Group - All Members of the Council.

NOTE: THE MAYOR, DEPUTY MAYOR AND LEADER OF THE COUNCIL ARE EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS OF ALL COMMITTEES.

<u>Youth Liaison Committee</u> – Cllrs L D Barker, G P Hayes, Mrs S A Holland and Mrs E Wardlaw

#### 7. CHAIRMEN & VICE CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

**CTC/6/1213 RESOLVED** – That the following Members be appointed Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees for the ensuing year:-

Planning Chairman - Councillor L D Barker

Vice Chairman - Councillor D A Parker

Personnel Chairman - Councillor D T Brown

Vice Chairman - Councillor G P Hayes

(Deputy Mayor)

Finance & Policy Chairman - Councillor G R Edwards

Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs J D Parry

Community, Environment Chairman - Councillor D Fletcher

& Services Vice Chairman - Councillor G S Williams

Congleton Town Hall Chairman - Councillor D A Parker

Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs D S Allen

Strategy Working Group Chairman - Councillor G R Edwards

Vice Chairman - Councillor D T Brown

### 8. <u>APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OTHER OFFICES</u>

CTC/7/1213 RESOLVED – That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

Town Crier - Councillor D A Parker

Curator of Town Treasures - Councillor D A Parker
Assistant Curator - Councillor D T Brown

Lead Members on Quality - Councillor Mrs D S Allen

Councillor G R Edwards Councillor D T Brown

Macebearer - Councillor D A Parker

Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw (Deputy)

## 9. <u>APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE B</u>ODIES

**CTC/8/1213 RESOLVED** – That the following members be appointed as the Council's representatives to serve on the Body stated, for the ensuing Municipal Year, namely:-

(i) Congleton Museum Trust - Councillor Mrs D A Allen

(Reserve: Councillor Mrs

S A Holland)

(ii) Congleton & Vale Royal Police - Councillor Mrs J D Parry

Local Consultative Committee (Reserve: Councillor Mrs

D S Allen)

(iii) Public Transport Liaison Committee - Councillor L D Barker

(Reserve: Councillor M J

Hutton)

(iv)	Congleton Partnership Executive Group -		Councillor G R Edwards Councillor J S Crowther
(v)	Hilary Avenue Allotment Association -		Councillor G S Williams
(vii)	Selection Panel	-	Town Mayor Leader of the Council Chair of Personnel Comm Plus 2 selected members
(viii)	Congleton Area LAP	-	Councillor G S Williams (Reserve: Councillor Mrs A Martin)
(ix)	Astbury Mere Trust	-	Councillor D Fletcher
(x)	Neighbourhood Planning Group	- - -	Councillor G R Edwards Councillor L D Barker Councillor M Hutton
(xi)	Chalc	-	Councillor Mrs S A Holland

## 10. MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Paul Withington had been appointed as Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year and informed the Council that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday, 13<sup>th</sup> May 2012, at St. Peter's Church, Chapel Street, Congleton at 3.00pm.

Mrs S A Holland

**TOWN MAYOR**