#### CONGLETON TOWN COUNCIL

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE TOWN COUNCIL

# Held at Town Hall, Congleton on 13<sup>th</sup> May 2010

PRESENT Councillors N. Bayley

G Baxendale Mrs L Bossons D T Brown M. Carey E Clarke Mrs L Daniels G R Edwards Mrs S Holland

D Martin P Mason D Murphy D. A. Parker

A R Thwaite Mrs. J Whitehurst

# COUNCILLOR E. CLARKE (RETIRING MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

#### 1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors R. Boston and C. Nield

### 2. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

CTC/1/1011 RESOLVED Unanimously - That Councillor D.T. Brown be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by his successor.

Councillor D.T. Brown then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

#### COUNCILLOR D. BROWN (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the Meeting and gave thanks for his election.

The Town Mayor then invested the Mayoress with the Chain of Office

# 3. VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

CTC/2/1011 RESOLVED Unanimously - That a vote of thanks be accorded to Councillor E. Clarke for the able manner in which he had undertaken his duties during the year in Office.

The Town Mayor thereupon presented Councillor E. Clarke with his Former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed, to record his term of Office as Town Mayor and to which he responded.

# 4. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR</u>

CTC/3/1011 RESOLVED Unanimously - That Councillor D Martin be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by his successor.

Councillor D Martin having received his Chain of Office from the Town Mayor, then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Office.

The Deputy Mayor then invested the Deputy Mayoress with the Chain of Office

### 5. <u>LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF COUNCIL</u>

CTC/4/1011 RESOLVED - That Councillor N Bayley be elected Leader of Council and Councillor Mrs S A Holland be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

### 6. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

CTC/5/1011 RESOLVED - That membership of the Committees and Working Group be as follows:

Planning Committee-All Members

<u>Personnel Committee</u>-Cllrs D.A. Parker, Mrs S A Holland, C. Anstice, G Baxendale, R Boston, M Carey, E. Clarke, D Murphy

<u>Finance & Policy Committee</u>- Cllrs N J Bayley, E. Clarke, Mrs S A Holland, C. Anstice, R Boston, G R Edwards, D Murphy, D Parker

Amenities & Services Committee- Cllrs D Parker, C. Anstice, Mrs L Bossons, M Carey, G R Edwards, C Nield, A Thwaite, Ms R Williams

<u>Community & Environment Committee</u>- Cllrs Mrs S A Holland, C R Anstice, Mrs L Bossons, Mrs L Daniels, D Parker, P Mason, D Murphy, Mrs J Whitehurst, Appointed Member-Mrs M M Williamson

Congleton Town Hall- Cllrs E. Clarke, C Anstice, Mrs L Bossons, G R Edwards, P Mason, D Murphy, D A Parker, Mrs J Whitehurst,

Strategy Working Group- All Members plus Co-opted Members Mr J S Pollard and Mrs M M Williamson

NOTE: THE MAYOR, DEPUTY MAYOR AND LEADER OF THE COUNCIL ARE EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS OF ALL COMMITTEES

#### 7. CHAIRMEN & VICE CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

CTC/6/1011 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees for the ensuing year:-

Planning Chairman - Councillor D Murphy

Vice-Chairman - Councillor A R Thwaite

Personnel Chairman - Councillor D A Parker

Vice-Chairman - Councillor Mrs S A Holland

Finance & Policy Chairman - Councillor N Bayley

Vice-Chairman - Councillor E Clarke

Amenities & Chairman - Councillor D A Parker Services Vice- Chairman - Councillor C Anstice

Community & Chairman - Councillor Mrs SA Holland Environment Vice-Chairman - Councillor Mrs L Daniels

Congleton Town Chairman - Councillor E Clarke
Hall Vice Chairman - Councillor L Bossons

Strategy Working Chairman - Councillor N J Bayley

Group Vice- Chairman - The Mayor - Cllr D T Brown

# 8. <u>APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OTHER OFFICES</u>

CTC/7/011 RESOLVED - That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

Town Crier - Cllr D A Parker

Curator of Town Treasures - Cllr D A Parker

Assistant Curator - Cllr Mrs J Whitehurst

Lead Members on Quality - Cllrs D T Brown, D Murphy

and GR Edwards.

Macebearer - Cllr D A Parker

- Cllr E Clarke and D Murphy (Deputy)

#### 9. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

CTC/8/1011 RESOLVED - That the following members be appointed as the Council's representatives to serve on the Body stated, for the ensuing Municipal Year, namely:-

(i) Congleton Museum Trust - Cllr E Clarke

(ii) Local Police Consultative Committee - Councillor R Boston

(Reserve: Councillor D Murphy)

(iii) Public Transport Liaison Committee - Councillor A R Thwaite

(Reserve Councillor R Boston)

(iv) Congleton Partnership Executive Group - Councillor N Bayley

- Councillor D Murphy

(v) Hilary Avenue Allotment Association - Councillor Mrs L Bossons

vi) Task & Finish Bridestones - Councillor G.R. Edwards
Councillor D.A. Parker

Councillor E. Clarke

Councillor Mrs. J.Whitehurst

vii) Selection Panel - Councillor N. Bayley

Councillor R. Boston Councillor D. Murphy Councillor E. Clarke Councillor P. Mason

viii) Congleton Area LAP - Councillor N. Bayley

Councillor Mrs. L. Daniels

iv) Astbury Mere Trust - Councillor N. Bayley

Councillor G. Baxendale

#### 10. MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Rev. Philip J. Berry had been appointed as Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year and informed the Council that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 20th June 2010 at Trinity Methodist Church at 3.00pm.

#### 11. ANNUAL REPORT

CTC/9/1011 RESOLVED - That the Annual Report be approved

# 12 ANNUAL TOWN MEETING

CTC/10/1011 RESOLVED - That the minutes of the Annual Town Meeting be received

# 12. <u>MEETING DATES 2010-11</u>

CTC11/1011 RESOLVED - That the MEETING DATE OF THE NEXT Town Council meeting be moved forward from  $24^{th}$  June to the  $3^{rd}$  June in order to meet the requirements of the External auditor

D. T. BROWN

**TOWN MAYOR**