CONGLETON TOWN COUNCIL

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

THURSDAY 19TH MAY 2011

NOTE OF PROCEEDINGS

- 1. a) At 7.15 p.m. the Town Mayor will open the meeting by calling on his Chaplain to say prayers.
 - b) The Town Clerk will then submit apologies for absence.
- 2. The Town Mayor will then call for nominees for the election of Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

Councillor	R Edwards will propose the name of_
Councillor	David Martin
Councillor	G Hayes will second the proposal.

Other members of the Council wishing to support the proposal will then do so.

The Town Mayor, having asked if there are any further nominations, will then ask the Council to vote on the motion.

After the vote has been taken, the retiring Mayor and new Mayor will retire for change of robing and Chain of Office and, having returned to the meeting, the new Town Mayor will take the Chair and will then read and sign the statutory declaration of acceptance of Office and return thanks for his election.

The Town Mayor will then invest the Mayoress, with the Chain of Office.

3. <u>Councillor</u> R Edwards will then propose a vote of thanks to the retiring Town Mayor, <u>Councillor</u> Mrs S A Holland will second the proposal.

Other members of the Council and Youth Committee Members wishing to support the proposal will then do so, following which the Town Mayor will then call upon the Council to vote.

The Town Mayor will then present to the retired Town Mayor the former Town Mayor's Medallion.

The retired Town Mayor will then respond and make appropriate presentations.

The retired Town Mayor will present the retiring Mayor's Cadet, Jack Schofield with a medallion.

The Town Mayor will give details of the Town Mayor's Cadet Scheme. He will then appoint the next Town Mayor's Cadet, Aynsley Heathcote and present him with the badge of office.

4. The Town Mayor will then call for nominations for the election of Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

CouncillorD Martin will propose the name ofCouncillorMrs S A HollandCouncillorR Edwards will second the proposal.

Other members wishing to support the proposal will then do so.

The Town Mayor, having asked if there are any further nominations, will then ask the Council to vote on the motion.

After the vote has been taken the Deputy Town Mayor will then read and sign the statutory declaration of Acceptance of Office and return thanks for his election.

The Town Mayor will then present to the Deputy Town Mayor the Chain of Office. The Deputy Town Mayor would present her Consort with the Chain of Office.

5. The Town Mayor will then call for nominations for the appointment of Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.

<u>Councillor</u> D Martin will propose the names of <u>Councillor</u> R Edwards and D Brown <u>Councillor</u> L Barker will second the motion.

The Town Mayor, having asked if there are any further nominations, will then ask the Council to vote on the motion.

- 6. The Town Mayor will then call for the constitution of the following Council Committees
 - Planning
 - Personnel
 - Finance and Policy
 - Amenities and Services
 - Community and Environment
 - Congleton Town Hall
 - Strategy Working Group

<u>Councillor</u> R Edwards will propose the constitution of the Committees as follows:-

Planning Committee

All Members of the Council

Personnel Committee Councillors Mrs D Allen D Brown **R** Brightwell J Crowther **D** Fletcher G Hayes D Parker **G** Williams Finance and Policy Committee Councillors G Baxendale D Brown **R** Brightwell **R** Edwards D Fletcher M Hutton D Parker Mrs J Parry Amenities and Services Committee Councillors Mrs D Allen **G** Baxendale Mrs S A Holland D Parker Mrs J Parry N Price G Williams Miss R Williams Community and Environment Committee Councillors D Brown M Carey D Fletcher

G Hayes D Parker Mrs J Parry N Price G Williams

Co-opted

Mrs. M. Williamson

3

Congleton Town Hall Councillors Mrs D Allen L Barker M Carey G Hayes M Hutton Mrs M Martin D Parker Mrs L Wardlaw

Strategy Working Group

All Members of the Council plus co-opted Member Mrs. M.M. Williamson.

Youth Committee Liaison Councillors L Barker G Hayes Mrs S A Holland Mrs L Wardlaw

<u>Cheque Signature</u> Councillors R Edwards G Hayes Mrs J Parry

NOTE: THE MAYOR, DEPUTY MAYOR AND LEADER OF THE COUNCIL ARE EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS OF ALL COMMITTEES

<u>Councillor</u> D Brown will second the proposal.

After asking for any further nominations, the Town Mayor will call upon the Council to vote.

7. The Town Mayor will call for nominations for the appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees.

<u>Councillor</u> R Ewards will propose that the following Members be appointed:-

<u>Councillor</u> D Brown will second the proposal and the Council will vote.

Planning	-	Chairman Vice-Chairman		Councillor D Parker Councillor L Barker
Personnel	-	Chairman	-	Councillor D Brown

	Vice-Chairman -	Councillor G Hayes
Finance & Policy	Chairman - Vice-Chairman -	Councillor R Edwards Councillor Mrs J Parry
Amenities & Services	Chairman - Vice-Chairman -	Councillor Mrs S A Holland Councillor Miss R Williams
	vice chairman	
Community &	Chairman -	Councillor D Fletcher
Environment	Vice-Chairman -	Councillor G Williams
Congleton Town Hall	Chairman -	Councillor D Parker
	Vice Chairman -	Councillor Mrs L Wardlaw
Strategy Working	Chairman -	Councillor R Edwards
Group	Vice-Chairman -	Councillor D Brown

8. The Town Mayor will call for nominations for the appointment of Members to Other Offices.

Councillor R Edwards will nominate the following:-

i)	Town Crier	-	Councillor D.A. Parker
ii)	Curator of Town Treasures Assistant Curator	- -	Councillor D.A. Parker Councillor D Brown
iii)	Lead Members on Quality	-	Councillor Mrs D Allen Councillor R Edwards Councillor D Brown
iv)	Macebearer	-	Councillor D Parker Councillor (Deputy) Mrs L Wardlaw
Cound	cillor D Brown will second the proposal.		

The Town Mayor will call upon the Council to vote.

Coun	cillor R Edwards will nominate the follow	ing:-	
i)	Congleton Museum Trust (1)	- eserve: (Town Mayor Councillor D Martin Councillor Mrs S A Holland)
ii)	Congleton & Vale Royal Police Local Consultative Committee	-	Councillor Mrs J Parry (Reserve: Councillor Mrs D Allen)
	(1 plus Reserve)		
iii)	Public Transport Liaison Committee (1 plus Reserve)	-	Councillor Miss R Williams (Reserve: Councillor M Hutton) L Barker
iv)	Congleton Partnership Executive Group(2)) –	Councillor R Edwards Councillor G Hayes Councillor L Barker Councillor J S Crowther
v)	Hilary Avenue Allotment Association	-	Councillor G Williams
vii)	Selection Panel	-	Councillor R Edwards Councillor Mrs D Allen Councillor J S Crowther Councillor D Martin Councillor D Fletcher
viii)	Congleton Area LAP	- (Reser	Councillor G Williams rve: Councillor Mrs D Allen)
ix)	Astbury Mere Trust	-	Councillor D Fletcher Councillor G Baxendale
x)	Neighbourhood Planning Group	- - -	Councillor R Edwards Councillor L Barker Councillor M Hutton
xi)	Chalc	-	Councillor Mrs L Wardlaw

9.

Councillor D Brown will second the proposal

The Town Mayor will call upon the Council to vote. Jeanne Whitehurst Fellowship

Mrs Jeanne Whitehurst will present the Jeanne Whitehurst Fellowship award to

10. The Town Mayor will advise the Meeting of the name of the person appointed as Mayor's Chaplain, Father W. Kilkenny for the ensuing year and also the arrangements for the Civic Service to be held on Sunday, 10th July, 2011 at St. Mary's R. C. Church, West Road, Congleton at 3.00pm.

The Meeting will continue with the Agenda Items.

The Town Mayor will then declare the Meeting closed and will retire to unrobe.
