# **Congleton Town Council**

## Minutes of the Annual Meeting to the Town Council

# Held at the Town Hall, Congleton on 15<sup>th</sup> May 2014

**PRESENT:** Councillors L.D Barker

P Bates
G Baxendale
R I Brightwell
J S Crowther
G P Hayes
Mrs S A Holland
Mrs A M Martin
D Murphy

D A Parker J D Parry G S Williams Mrs E Wardlaw

COUNCILLOR G P Hayes (RETIRING MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

#### 1. **ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR**

**CTC/1/1415 RESOLVED** – Unanimously - That Councillor Mr D Murphy be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by his successor.

Councillor D Murphy then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

COUNCILLOR D MURPHY (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the Meeting and gave thanks for his election.

The Town Mayor then invested the Mayor's Consort with the Chain of Office.

# 2. **VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR**

**CTC/2/1415 RESOLVED** Unanimously - That a vote of thanks be accorded to Councillor G.P. Hayes for the able manner in which he had undertaken his duties during the year he was in Office.

The Town Mayor thereupon presented Cllr G.P. Hayes with the Former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed, to record his term of Office. The retiring Mayor, Councillor G.P. Hayes, then responded.

#### 3. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs D Allen, Ms. L Bours, D.T. Brown, G.R Edwards and Miss R K Williams.

#### 4. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR**

**CTC/3/1415 RESOLVED -** That Councillor Mrs E. Wardlaw be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by her successor.

Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw having received her Chain of Office from the Town Mayor then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Office.

#### 5. **LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL**

**CTC/4/1415 RESOLVED -** That Councillor G R Edwards be elected Leader of the Council and Councillor D T Brown be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

#### 6. **COUNCIL COMMITTEES**

CTC/5/1415 RESOLVED - That membership of the Committees and Working Group be as follows:-

Planning Committee - All Members of the Council.

<u>Personnel Committee</u> – Cllrs D T Brown, R I Brightwell, Ms. L Bours, J S Crowther, G P Hayes, Mrs S A Holland, Mrs A M Martin, D A Parker, Miss R K Williams and G S Williams.

<u>Finance & Policy Committee</u> – Cllrs P Bates, G Baxendale, G Brittain, D T Brown, R I Brightwell, G R Edwards, Mrs S A Holland, N T Price, D A Parker and Mrs J D Parry.

<u>Community, Environment & Services Committee</u> – Cllrs Mrs D S Allen, P Bates, Ms.L Bours, J S Crowther, D T Brown, G P Hayes, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J D Parry, Miss R K Williams and G S Williams.

#### Congleton Town Hall

Cllrs Mrs D S Allen, L D Barker, G Baxendale, G Brittain, J S Crowther, G P Hayes, Mrs A M Martin, D A Parker, Mrs J D Parry, and N T Price.

<u>Strategy Working Group</u> – All Members of the Council.

**NOTE**: THE MAYOR, DEPUTY MAYOR AND LEADER OF THE COUNCIL ARE EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS OF ALL COMMITTEES.

<u>Health and Wellbeing Working Group</u> – Cllrs E Wardlaw (chair), R Brightwell (advisor) Members TBA

<u>Youth Liaison Committee</u> – Cllrs L D Barker, G P Hayes, Mrs S A Holland and Mrs E Wardlaw.

## 7. CHAIRMAN & VICE CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES

**CTC/6/1415 RESOLVED -** That the following Members be appointed Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees for the ensuing year:-

Planning Chairman - Councillor L D Barker
Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs A Martin

Personnel Chairman - Councillor D T Brown

Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs SA Holland

Finance & Policy Chairman - Councillor G R Edwards

Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs J D Parry

Community, Environment Chairman - Councillor G S Williams

& Services Vice Chairman - Councillor P Bates

Congleton Town Hall Chairman - Councillor D A Parker & Assets Vice Chairman - Councillor Mrs D S Allen

Strategy Working Group Chairman - Councillor G R Edwards

Vice Chairman - Councillor D T Brown

#### 8. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OTHER OFFICES

CTC/7/1415 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

Town Crier - Councillor D A Parker

Curator of Town Treasures - Councillor D A Parker
Assistant Curator - Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw

Lead Members on Quality - Councillor Mrs D S Allen

Councillor G R Edwards Councillor D T Brown

Macebearer - Councillor D A Parker
Deputy - Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw

### 9. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

CTC/8/1415 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed as the Council's representatives to serve on the Body stated, for the ensuing Municipal Year, namely:-

(i) Congleton Museum Trust - Councillor Mrs D A Allen

(Reserve: Councillor Mrs

SA Holland)

(ii) Congleton Partnership Executive Group - Councillor G R Edwards

Councillor J S Crowther

(iii) Hilary Avenue Allotment Association - Councillor G S Williams

(iv) Selection Panel - Town Mayor

Leader of the Council

Chair of Personnel Committee Plus 2 Selected Members

(v) Congleton Area LAP - Councillor G S Williams

(Reserve: Councillor Mrs A

Martin)

(vi) Astbury Mere Trust - Councillor J S Crowther

Councillor G S Williams

(vii) Chalc - Councillor Mrs S A Holland

Councillor P Bates

viii) Police Liaison - Councillor P Bates

Councillor Mrs D Allen

ix) Neighbourhood Planning - Councillor R Edwards

Councillor L Barker Councillor A Martin

## 10. **JEANNE WHITEHURST FELLOWSHIP**

Jodie Thorpe was presented with the Jeanne Whitehurst Fellowship

## 11 MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Father William Kilkenny had been appointed as the Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year and informed the Council that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 1<sup>st</sup> June 2014 at St. Peter's Church, Chapel Street, Congleton at 3.30pm.

D Murphy

**TOWN MAYOR**