Congleton Town Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting to the Town Council

Held at the Town Hall, Congleton on 4th May 2017

PRESENT: Councillors

Mrs S Akers Smith
Mrs D S Allen
L D Barker
P Bates
C Booth
P Broom
D T Brown
G R Edwards
G P Hayes
Mrs A M Martin
Mrs A E Morrison
J D Parry
G S Williams

1. <u>ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR</u>

CTC/1/1718 RESOLVED –That Councillor C H Booth be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by his successor.

Councillor C H Booth then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

COUNCILLOR C H Booth (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the meeting and gave thanks for his election.

The Town Mayor then invested the Mayoress Aimee Booth with the Chain of Office.

2. <u>VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR</u>

CTC/2/1718 RESOLVED That a vote of thanks be accorded to Cllr D T Brown for the able manner in which he had undertaken his duties during the year he was in Office.

The Town Mayor thereupon presented Cllr D T Brown with the Former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed, to record his Term of Office. The retiring Mayor, Cllr D T Brown, then responded and presented the retiring Town Mayor's Cadet Daniel Bonney with a medallion.

The Town Mayor then invested the next Town Mayor's Cadet, Joseph Krinks with the badge of office.

3. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors N Adams, J G Baggott, Mrs S A Holland, H Richards and Mrs E Wardlaw.

4. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR</u>

CTC/3/1718 RESOLVED - That Councillor Mrs S Akers Smith be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by his successor.

5. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

CTC/4/1718 RESOLVED - That Councillor G R Edwards be elected Leader of the Council and Councillor D T Brown be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

6. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

CTC/5/1718 RESOLVED - That membership of the Committees and Working Group be as follows:-

6.1 Planning Committee

All Members of the Council.

6.2 Personnel Committee

Councillors DT Brown, P Bates, G R Edwards Mrs S A Smith, JG Baggott, L D Barker, C H Booth, Mrs A M Martin, H Richards and G S Williams.

6.3 Finance & Policy Committee

Councillors G R Edwards, Mrs J D Parry, N Adams, Mrs S A Smith, J G Baggott, P Bates, R Boston, Mrs S A Holland, Mrs A E Morrison and Mrs E Wardlaw.

6.4 Community, Environment & Services Committee (CE&S)

Councillors Mrs S A Holland, C H Booth, Mrs D S Allen, Mrs A L Armitt, R Boston, P Broom, G P Hayes, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J D Parry and G S Williams.

6.5 Congleton Town Hall & Assets

Councillors G P Hayes, Mrs A E Morrison, N Adams, Mrs D S Allen, Mrs A L Armitt, L D Barker, P Broom, D T Brown, H Richards and Mrs E Wardlaw.

6.6 Strategy Working Group

All Members of the Council.

6.7 <u>Health and Wellbeing Working Group</u> - Reporting to Community, Environment and Services Committee

Councillors Mrs S A Smith, Mrs E Wardlaw, Mrs A L Armitt, C H Booth, R Boston, P Broom. Mrs A M Martin and Mrs A E Morrison.

6.8 <u>Anti-Social Behaviour Working Group</u> - Reporting to Community, Environment and Services Committee

Councillors Mrs S A Holland, P Bates, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J D Parry, H Richards and G Williams.

7 CHAIRMAN & VICE CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES

CTC/6/1718 RESOLVED - That the following Members be appointed Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees for the ensuing year:-

	Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
7.1	Personnel	D T Brown	P Bates
7.2	Finance and Policy	G R Edwards (Leader)	Mrs J D Parry
7.3	Community Environment and Services	Mrs S A Holland	C H Booth
7.4	Congleton Town Hall and Assets	G P Hayes	Mrs A E Morrison
7.5	Planning	L D Barker	Mrs A M Martin
7.6	Strategy	Leader	Deputy Leader
7.7	Health and Wellbeing	Mrs S Akers Smith	Mrs E Wardlaw
7.8	Anti-Social Behaviour	Mrs S A Holland -	

8. **APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OTHER OFFICES**

CTC/7/1718 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

	Office	Name	
8.1	Town Crier	Mr D Parker	
8.2	Curator of Town Treasures	Mr D Parker	
	Assistant Curator of Town Treasures	Cllr D T Brown	
8.3	Lead Members on quality	Councillors C H Booth, D T Brown, G R Edwards	
8.4	Macebearer	Mr D Parker	
	Deputy Macebearer	Cllr P Bates	
8.5	Youth Committee Link Councillors	L D Barker, G P Hayes, Mrs S A Holland,	
	4 from	D T Brown, Mrs A L Armitt,	
		C H Booth, Mrs J D Parry, Mrs E Wardlaw	
8.6	Selection Panel for Co-option (5)	Mayor, Leader, Chair off personnel plus 2	
		other Councillors	
8.7	Complaints Panel	Mayor, Leader, Chairman of Personnel	
	(quorum 4)	Plus 3 from Committee Chairman	
8.8	Cheque signatories - 2 from 6	Councillors J G Baggott, P Bates, D T Brown,	
		G R Edwards, G P Hayes, Mrs J D Parry	

9. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

	Outside Bodies	Number	
9.1	Congleton Museum Trust	1+ Res	Mrs A E Morrison & Mrs A M Martin
9.2	Congleton Partnership Executive Group	2	G Edwards & Mrs A E Morrison
9.3	Hilary Avenue allotment Association	1	G S Williams
9.4	Astbury Mere Trust	1	Mrs E Wardlaw
9.5	ChAlc	1	Mrs S A Holland +any other interested members
9.6	Cheshire East Liaison		Relevant CEC Councillor
9.7	Local Police Liaison	1+ Res	P Bates & H Richards

10. MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Steve Hodgkinson from New Life Church had been appointed as the Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year.

11. MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 25th June 2017 at St. Peter's Church, Chapel Street, Congleton at 3.00pm.

C H Booth
TOWN MAYOR