Congleton Town Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting to the Town Council

Held at the Town Hall, Congleton on 12th May 2016

PRESENT: Councillors Mrs E Wardlaw

Mrs S Akers Smith Mrs A L Armitt

P Bates C Booth P Broom G R Edwards G P Hayes Mrs S A Holland Mrs A M Martin Mrs A E Morrison

J D Parry G S Williams

1. **ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR**

CTC/1/1617 RESOLVED – Unanimously - That Councillor D T Brown be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by his successor.

Councillor D T Brown then subscribed the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

COUNCILLOR D T Brown (TOWN MAYOR) IN THE CHAIR

The Town Mayor addressed the Meeting and gave thanks for his election.

The Town Mayor then invested the Mayoress Jane Brown with the Chain of Office.

2. **VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR**

CTC/2/1617 RESOLVED Unanimously - That a vote of thanks be accorded to Mrs E Wardlaw for the able manner in which she had undertaken her duties during the year she was in Office.

The Town Mayor thereupon presented Mrs E Wardlaw with the Former Town Mayor's Medallion, suitably inscribed, to record her term of Office. The retiring Mayor, Mrs E Wardlaw, then responded.

3. **APOLOGIES**

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs D S Allen, J G Baggott, R Boston and H Richards.

4. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR</u>

CTC/3/1617 RESOLVED - That Councillor Mr C Booth be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of Office by his successor.

5. **LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL**

CTC/4/1617 RESOLVED - That Councillor G R Edwards be elected Leader of the Council and Councillor D T Brown be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

6. **COUNCIL COMMITTEES**

CTC/5/1617 RESOLVED - That membership of the Committees and Working Group be as follows:-

Planning Committee

All Members of the Council.

Personnel Committee

Cllrs D T Brown, L Barker, P Bates, Mrs S Ackers Smith, C Booth J G Baggott, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J Parry, H Richards and G S Williams.

Finance & Policy Committee

Cllrs P Bates, J G Baggott, G R Edwards, Mrs S A Holland, N Adams, Mrs D S Allen, R Boston, Mrs J D Parry and Mrs S Ackers Smith. Mrs E Wardlaw

Community, Environment & Services Committee (CE&S)

Cllrs Mrs S A Holland, P Broom, G P Hayes, Mrs A L Armitt, R Boston, C Booth, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs J D Parry, Mrs A E Morrison and G S Williams.

Congleton Town Hall & Assets

Cllrs Mrs D S Allen, Mrs A L Armitt, L Barker, P Broom, G P Hayes, Mrs S A Holland, Mrs A E Morrison, Mrs E Wardlaw, N Adams and H Richards

Strategy Working Group

All Members of the Council.

Health and Wellbeing Working Group - Reporting (CE&S)

Cllrs E Wardlaw, Mrs A L Armitt, P Broom, Mrs A M Martin, Mrs A E Morrison, C Booth and Mrs S Ackers Smith.

Anti Social Behaviour Working Group - Reporting to (CE&S)

Cllrs Mrs S A Holland, Mrs J D Parry, P Bates, G Williams Mrs A Martin

<u>In Bloom Working Group</u> Reporting to (CE&S)

Clirs: D T Brown, G R Edwards, Mrs A M Martin, G Williams, Mrs A E Morrison

Officers: J MacArthur, R Burgess, M Hayes

Volunteers: Mrs P Pinto, Mrs M Gartside, S Foster, P Aston

NOTE: THE MAYOR, DEPUTY MAYOR AND LEADER OF THE COUNCIL ARE EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS OF ALL COMMITTEES.

7. **CHAIRMAN & VICE CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES**

CTC/6/1617 RESOLVED - That the following Members be appointed Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees for the ensuing year:-

Councillor L D Barker **Planning** Chairman

Vice Chairman -Councillor Mrs A Martin

Personnel Chairman Councillor D T Brown

Vice Chairman -Councillor P Bates

Councillor G R Edwards Finance & Policy Chairman

> Vice Chairman -Councillor Mrs J D Parry

Community, Environment Chairman Councillor Mrs S A Holland

& Services Vice Chairman -Councillor C Booth

Congleton Town Hall Councillor G P Hayes Chairman

& Assets Councillor Mrs A E Morrison Vice Chairman -

Strategy Working Group Chairman Councillor G R Edwards

> Vice Chairman -Councillor D T Brown

Health & Wellbeing Chairman Councillor Mrs S Akers Smith Working Group

Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw Vice Chairman -

Anti Social Behaviour

Working Group

Chairman

Councillor Mrs S A Holland

In Bloom Working Group Councillor D T Brown Chairman

8. <u>APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OTHER OFFICES</u>

CTC/7/1617 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed to the offices set out below:

Town Crier Mr D A Parker

Mr D A Parker Curator of Town Treasures -

Councillor D T Brown **Assistant Curator**

Lead Members on Quality Councillor D T Brown

Councillor G R Edwards

Councillor C Booth

Macebearer Councillor D A Parker Councillor P Bates Deputy

Youth Committee Link Councillor L Barker

Councillor G P Hayes

Councillor Mrs S A Holland Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw

Reserve Cllr C Booth

Selection Panel for co-option - Town Mayor

of a Councillor Leader of the Council

Chair of Personnel Committee Plus 2 Selected Members

Complaints Panel - Town Mayor

Leader of the Council Plus 1 selected member

Neighbourhood Planning - Councillor G R Edwards

Councillor L Barker

Councillor Mrs A M Martin

Councillor P Bates

Replacement Cheque Signatories

2 from 6

Councillor P Bates
Councillor J G Baggott
Councillor G R Edwards
Councillor D T Brown
Councillor Mrs J D Parry
Councillor G Hayes

9. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

CTC/8/1617 RESOLVED- That the following Members be appointed as the Council's representatives to serve on the Body stated, for the ensuing Municipal Year, namely:-

(i) Congleton Museum Trust - Councillor Mrs A E Morrison

Reserves: Councillors Mrs E Wardlaw, Mrs S Akers Smith

(ii) Congleton Partnership Executive Group - Councillor G R Edwards

Councillor Mrs A E Morrison

(iii) Hilary Avenue Allotment Association - Councillor G S Williams

(iv) Astbury Mere Trust - Councillor Mrs E Wardlaw

(v) Chalc - Councillor Mrs S A Holland

Councillor Mrs A M Martin

viii) Police Liaison - Councillor P Bates

Councillor H Richards

ix) Cheshire East Liaison - Relevant CEC Councillor

10. **JEANNE WHITEHURST FELLOWSHIP**

Julie Teagle was presented with the Jeanne Whitehurst Fellowship Award by Matthew Jones, Chairman of the Youth Committee.

11 MAYORAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor advised the meeting that Paul Withington had been appointed as the Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year and informed the Council that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 19th June 2016 at St. Peter's Church, Chapel Street, Congleton at 3.00pm.

D T Brown TOWN MAYOR